View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Weaselweb n00b
Joined: 17 Oct 2004 Posts: 74 Location: Chemnitz, Germany
|
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:22 pm Post subject: Xen 3.1.2 problems with ethernet bridge |
|
|
Hello,
I wanted to install Xen on my server. Compiling xen-sources worked, but after starting /etc/init.d/xend my network setup is broken.
here are some infos:
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: |
config_eth0=( "192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.0.255"
"192.168.10.11 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.10.255"
)
routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.0.1" )
|
`ifconfig` before starting xend
Code: |
eth0 Protokoll:Ethernet Hardware Adresse 00:1A:92:5A:14:09
inet Adresse:192.168.0.2 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Maske:255.255.255.0
inet6 Adresse: fe80::21a:92ff:fe5a:1409/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:325 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:1000
RX bytes:2979 (2.9 Kb) TX bytes:23836 (23.2 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Basisadresse:0xc000
lo Protokoll:Lokale Schleife
inet Adresse:127.0.0.1 Maske:255.0.0.0
inet6 Adresse: ::1/128 Gültigkeitsbereich:Maschine
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:74 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:74 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
RX bytes:5982 (5.8 Kb) TX bytes:5982 (5.8 Kb)
|
`ifconfig` before starting xend
Code: |
lo Protokoll:Lokale Schleife
inet Adresse:127.0.0.1 Maske:255.0.0.0
inet6 Adresse: ::1/128 Gültigkeitsbereich:Maschine
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:74 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:74 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
RX bytes:5982 (5.8 Kb) TX bytes:5982 (5.8 Kb)
peth0 Protokoll:Ethernet Hardware Adresse FE:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
inet6 Adresse: fe80::fcff:ffff:feff:ffff/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
UP BROADCAST RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:41 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:327 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:1000
RX bytes:3399 (3.3 Kb) TX bytes:23976 (23.4 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Basisadresse:0xc000
vif0.0 Protokoll:Ethernet Hardware Adresse FE:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
inet6 Adresse: fe80::fcff:ffff:feff:ffff/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
UP BROADCAST RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:320 (320.0 b)
xenbr0 Protokoll:Ethernet Hardware Adresse FE:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
RX bytes:138 (138.0 b) TX bytes:90 (90.0 b)
xendbr Protokoll:Ethernet Hardware Adresse 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet6 Adresse: fe80::200:ff:fe00:0/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:398 (398.0 b)
|
As you can see, no interface get a IP address.
`brctl show`:
Code: |
bridge name bridge id STP enabled interfaces
xenbr0 8000.feffffffffff no vif0.0
peth0
xendbr 8000.000000000000 no
|
So, anybody with an idea whats wrong here and how to fix it? I want to setup a bridged ethernet, so each DomU has full network access.
Greetings
Weaselweb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Weaselweb n00b
Joined: 17 Oct 2004 Posts: 74 Location: Chemnitz, Germany
|
Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Mh, looks like i found it.
I removed my second IP for eth0, seems like xen scripts cant handle multiple IPs per interface. Does someone know how to handle xen with multiple IPs on one interface?
Looks like i have to add a DomU which then uses the second IP. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Petronios n00b
Joined: 13 Feb 2008 Posts: 2 Location: Ilmenau (Germany)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
cazze Apprentice
Joined: 26 Mar 2003 Posts: 155 Location: Brussels - Belgium
|
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
@ weaselweb
Hi,
strange that you have xenbr0, peth0 etc already before starting xend, as xend is making those interfaces. Or am i wrong here?
Another thing, didn't you had problems with the ipv6 address on your eth0? after starting eth0, did you had a valid ipv6 address on your eth0? _________________ Required: Windows 95 or better, so i installed Linux!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Weaselweb n00b
Joined: 17 Oct 2004 Posts: 74 Location: Chemnitz, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
cazze wrote: | strange that you have xenbr0, peth0 etc already before starting xend, as xend is making those interfaces. Or am i wrong here? |
I think you got it just wrong.
cazze wrote: |
Another thing, didn't you had problems with the ipv6 address on your eth0? after starting eth0, did you had a valid ipv6 address on your eth0? |
AFAIR I had problems at first, but i changed a line in network-bridge, so it just uses the line from ifconfig where "inet " (notice the blank space) is stated, which ignores ipv6 address. But ATM i don't really use ipv6, i have a tunnel, but this is just on my server, no client is connected to ipv6. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cazze Apprentice
Joined: 26 Mar 2003 Posts: 155 Location: Brussels - Belgium
|
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 3:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | cazze wrote:
strange that you have xenbr0, peth0 etc already before starting xend, as xend is making those interfaces. Or am i wrong here?
I think you got it just wrong. |
Can you explain me which part of your boot sequence is making them then?
I thought it was the /etc/xen/scripts/network-bridge script who was making them, declared in /etc/xen/xend-config.sxp to be used by xend! _________________ Required: Windows 95 or better, so i installed Linux!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Weaselweb n00b
Joined: 17 Oct 2004 Posts: 74 Location: Chemnitz, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cazze wrote: | Can you explain me which part of your boot sequence is making them then?
I thought it was the /etc/xen/scripts/network-bridge script who was making them, declared in /etc/xen/xend-config.sxp to be used by xend! |
Maybe I got you wrong now. This bridge is created by the xen-init-script which uses /etc/xen/scripts/network-bridge
What i have to test is the behavior with a global ipv6 on eth0 at system startup. The link-layer is always created. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Weaselweb n00b
Joined: 17 Oct 2004 Posts: 74 Location: Chemnitz, Germany
|
Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cazze wrote: | Another thing, didn't you had problems with the ipv6 address on your eth0? after starting eth0, did you had a valid ipv6 address on your eth0? |
You were right. Configuring ipv6 before starting xend doesn't work. I have to set up my ip in /etc/conf.d/local.start to get an ipv6 after starting xend. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|