Gentoo on an HP dv9700t laptop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
srunni
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 3:45 am    Post subject: Gentoo on an HP dv9700t laptop Reply with quote

Hi,

I've been using Linux (mainly Kubuntu) for the past 18 months, and I'm interested in moving to Gentoo. I've ordered a new laptop from HP, the dv9700t model. I'd like to know whether running Gentoo on this laptop would be feasible.

First of all, it's got an NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS graphics card. I know that 3D support is available for NVIDIA's cards, but would cloning/extending the desktop onto an external monitor be possible with this graphics card?

The wireless card is an Intel PRO/Wireless 4965AGN; support exists for this chipset, but how hard would it be to implement it in Gentoo? Also, is there a graphical interface for connecting to/disconnecting from wireless networks on the fly?

There's supposed to be support for sound with unofficial patches for ALSA - does anybody know about this? The sound chipset is an Intel ICH8M, an integrated HD audio card.

Finally, can anybody that has experience with HP laptops comment on compatibility for laptop-specific features, such as power saving/hibernation and media controls?

I won't be able to do any actual testing until I receive the laptop; when I do, I'll post what works and what doesn't. Also, I'm new to Gentoo, so bear with me here :D

Thanks in advance for the help!!

srunni
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sound and video should work... i think the keyboard's extra keys should work... i don't use any of that other stuff though.

note that i don't actually own that laptop, i'm just going by what i know. :wink: :lol:

cheers

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate