Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems connecting to WPA2-PSK AP
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:48 pm    Post subject: Problems connecting to WPA2-PSK AP Reply with quote

Well I have read http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=4&chap=4 as well as http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Wireless_Configuration_and_Startup and man wpa_supplicant. Everything appears to be working but I can never connect to my wireless router.

The router is
WPA2-PSK
TKIP-AES
WPA Shared Key

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

# This is a network block that connects to any unsecured access point.
# We give it a low priority so any defined blocks are preferred.
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1

network={
        ssid="zepher"
        proto=WPA2
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="very secret key"
}


/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
HOSTNAME="overflow"
dns_domain_lo="eip.gov"
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )

essid_wlan0="zepher"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="ndiswrapper"


I also followed the direction in the docs I read so I did
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start


/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
Code:

* Starting wlan0
 *   Starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0 ...                                 [ ok ]
 *   Starting wpa_cli on wlan0 ...                                        [ ok ]
 *     Backgrounding ...


iwconfig
Code:

lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:off/any
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:24 dBm
          RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


I can't seem to find the step I missed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:52 am    Post subject: Re: Problems connecting to WPA2-PSK AP Reply with quote

guinness.stout wrote:
Well I have read http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=4&chap=4 as well as http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Wireless_Configuration_and_Startup and man wpa_supplicant. Everything appears to be working but I can never connect to my wireless router.

The router is
WPA2-PSK
TKIP-AES
WPA Shared Key

/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

# This is a network block that connects to any unsecured access point.
# We give it a low priority so any defined blocks are preferred.
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1

network={
        ssid="zepher"
        proto=WPA2
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="very secret key"
}


You probably need to change the config of the network to look like this:
Code:

network={
        ssid="zepher"
        proto=RSN
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="very secret key"
}


What gives you iwlist scan?
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iwlist scan before and after the change you suggested gives me
Code:

wlan0 No scan results
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add scan_ssid=1 to the network configuration of zepher and try again. If this does not work try debugging by executing wpa_supplicant manually, e.g.,
Code:

# wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -d

_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do I need to properly terminate special charactures in my key if my key was say "thisismykey!" minus the quotations. Do I need to put a \ (backslash) infront of the exclamation mark like "thisismykey\!"?

I let that command run for a few seconds. As you can see it is not finding an AP. I am also confused why it does not say WPA2. AP I am connecting to is WPA2-PSK only.

Code:

wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -d
Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group='0' (DEPRECATED)
ap_scan=1
Priority group 0
   id=0 ssid='zepher'
Initializing interface (2) 'wlan0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=18 enc_capa=0xf
  capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:1a:73:b6:11:6f
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
ctrl_interface_group=0
Added interface wlan0
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1002 ()
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=12
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
State: DISCONNECTED -> SCANNING
Starting AP scan (specific SSID)
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=6):
     7a 65 70 68 65 72                                 zepher
Trying to get current scan results first without requesting a new scan to speed up initial association
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
Scan results: 0
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable AP found.
Setting scan request: 0 sec 0 usec
Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
Scan timeout - try to get results
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
Scan results: 0
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable AP found.
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
Starting AP scan (specific SSID)
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=6):
     7a 65 70 68 65 72                                 zepher
Scan timeout - try to get results
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
Scan results: 0
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable AP found.
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
CTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING - signal 2 received
Removing interface wlan0
State: SCANNING -> DISCONNECTED
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
Cancelling scan request
Cancelling authentication timeout
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=0, operstate=6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h0tline
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you add
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext" # For generic wireless

or

wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dmadwifi" # For Atheros based cards

My computer has madwifi so I had to supply this. See "man wpa_supplicant" ... what driver do you use anyway?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using bcmwl5.inf which I use with ndiswrapper so mine reads

wpa_supplicant_wlan0="ndiswrapper"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Give it a shot with wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf ".
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't understand the command you want me to run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Change the according line in your /etc/conf.d/net configuration file to
Code:
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
and try to restart, e.g.,
Code:
# /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart

_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same result, nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:28 am    Post subject: Re: Problems connecting to WPA2-PSK AP Reply with quote

guinness.stout wrote:

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
HOSTNAME="overflow"
dns_domain_lo="eip.gov"
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )

essid_wlan0="zepher"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="ndiswrapper"


You could put the following lines in this file too:
Code:

preferred_aps=( "zepher" )
associate_order="preferredonly"

Run manually wpa_supplicant and tell us the debugging output.
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good lord, still nothing. I've never had this much trouble with WIFI before. Let me recap all my configs since I've made a lot of changes now.

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

dns_domain_lo="eip.gov"
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
#dhcp_eth0="nodns nontp nonis"

essid_wlan0="zepher"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"
preferred_aps=( "zepher" )
accociate_order="preferredonly"


/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1

network={
        ssid="zepher"
        proto=RSN
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="keycode!"
        scan_ssid=1
}


wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -d
Code:

Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group='0' (DEPRECATED)
ap_scan=1
Priority group 0
   id=0 ssid='zepher'
Initializing interface (2) 'wlan0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=18 enc_capa=0xf
  capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:1a:73:b6:11:6f
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
ctrl_interface_group=0
Added interface wlan0
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1002 ()
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=12
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x1003 ([UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'wlan0' added
State: DISCONNECTED -> SCANNING
Starting AP scan (specific SSID)
Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=6):
     7a 65 70 68 65 72                                 zepher
Trying to get current scan results first without requesting a new scan to speed up initial association
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
Scan results: 0
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable AP found.
Setting scan request: 0 sec 0 usec
Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
Scan timeout - try to get results
Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
Scan results: 0
Selecting BSS from priority group 0
Try to find WPA-enabled AP
Try to find non-WPA AP
No suitable AP found.
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
CTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING - signal 2 received
Removing interface wlan0
State: SCANNING -> DISCONNECTED
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
Cancelling scan request
Cancelling authentication timeout
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=0, operstate=6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add 'CCMP' to both 'group' and 'pairwise' (without removing TKIP!) and see if that helps ...

Greetz
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add it in what way?

I did

Code:

pairwise=TKIP-CCMP
group=TKIP-CCMP


I try to run wpa_supplicant manually and I get invalid cipher errors.

UPDATE

change it to TKIP CCMP, removed the hyphen as per the README on the wpa_supplicant website. Again, nothing. Still not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmpf :-/ Ok then, the last thing I can possible help is adding 'WPA' to 'proto' as in
Code:
proto=WPA RSN

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm - and your router has a fixed channel? Otherwise you could try that as well since I experienced problems with automatic channel selection ...

HTH
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it is fixed on channel 6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tarpman
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 1083
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
wpa_cli scan && sleep 2 && wpa_cli scan_results


The wpa_supplicant output says it can't see your AP at all. Let's see if that's actually the case. Note that wpa_supplicant needs to be running (i.e. net.wlan0 needs to be started or starting) for the above commands to work.

What is your wireless device? What driver exactly are you using for it?
_________________
Saving the world, one kilobyte at a time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guinness.stout
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 237
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wpa_cli scan && sleep 2 && wpa_cli scan_results
Code:

Selected interface 'wlan0'
OK
Selected interface 'wlan0'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum