Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Qt Copy ebuilds: Qt v3/v4. Updated: 20080115!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
soya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will try to find what's going wrong as no one seems to know what's happening.
_________________
Si el tonto te alaba laméntalo, si el listo te censura piénsalo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Finswimmer
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 5467
Location: Langen (Hessen), Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

What about a qt-4.4.0 support? It would be very cool since in the kde4 overlay thread all is very confusing.

Thanks,

Tobi
_________________
Bitte auf Rechtschreibung, korrekte Formatierung und Höflichkeit achten!
Danke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ginta
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 152
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now, the SVN trunk version of KDE, *NEEDS* qt-copy (4.4.0) AFAIK as said in kde's mailing lists: http://lists.kde.org/?l=kde&m=120327634616396&w=2

Also, I posted a bug in bugzilla of kde overlay (https://www2.mailstation.de/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=44) requesting for qt-copy support.

So I think we only need to wait a bit..
_________________
Some people should use emerge brain on theirselves...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beso_1717
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i get an error with kdelibs due to this patch:

11_all_kfile-beagle.patch.

the problem is in the following part of code:

Code:
diff -Naur kdelibs-3.5.8.orig/kio/kfile/kurlbar.cpp kdelibs-3.5.8/kio/kfile/kurlbar.cpp
--- kdelibs-3.5.8.orig/kio/kfile/kurlbar.cpp   2007-10-08 16:01:41.000000000 +0200
+++ kdelibs-3.5.8/kio/kfile/kurlbar.cpp   2007-11-20 12:18:19.000000000 +0100
@@ -605,8 +605,19 @@
     if ( !url.isValid() || !KProtocolInfo::isKnownProtocol( url ))
         return; // nothing we could do.
 
+    QString description = config->readEntry( QString("Description_") + number );
+
+    if (description.isEmpty() && url.protocol()=="beagle") {
+        KIO::UDSEntry uds;
+        const KURL kurl("beagle:?beagled-status");
+        if (!KIO::NetAccess::stat(kurl, uds))
+            return;
+
+        description = i18n("Desktop Search");
+    }
+


the specific error is: UDSEntry wasn't declared for this purpose, ; expected before uds.
it seems that there's some problem with the KIO::UDSEntry declaration of uds. i've tried to have a rapid look at the code and i think that the entry should be:

Code:
uds = new KIO::UDSEntry::UDSEntry();


am i wrong?!

my concern is what that uds should be: the typedef qlist<udsatom> udsentry or an instance of the udsentry class?!
now i'm trying to use it as an instance of the udsentry class and the compiler effectively doesn't argue that it was an error, but i don't know if it's right. i haven't read the documentation for kdelibs so i don't know if i'm doing the right thing. i'll let you know what happens with this use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jarealist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2002
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all thanks for the ebuilds and patches.

I've noticed at your download site (http://eruonen.serveblog.net/patches/) there are patches for 3.3.8 and 4.3.3 dated 20080211. Are they okay to use?

Secondly (just for info) 4.3.4 was released today in portage and I tried the current patchset for 4.3.3 and got this:

* 0204_all_fix-tulip-aliasing.diff ...

* Failed Patch: 0204_all_fix-tulip-aliasing.diff !
* ( /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4/work/qt-copy-4.3.3-patches-20080115/0204_all_fix-tulip-aliasing.diff )
*

Again, thanks for all your work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. Tao
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regarding news patches, it would be nice if you could provide symlink like qt-copy-ebuilds-latest.tar.bz2. With this I could use paludis repository to automatically install them.
/etc/paludis/repositories/qt-copy.conf:
location = ${ROOT}/usr/portage/local/overlay/qt-copy
sync = tar+http://eruonen.serveblog.net/qt-ebuilds/qt-copy-ebuilds-latest.tar.bz2
sync_options = "--rsync-option=--exclude=profiles"
#profiles = ${ROOT}/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2007.0
#eclassdirs = /usr/portage/eclass /usr/portage/local/layman/xeffects/eclass
#distdir = /usr/local/portage/distfiles
master_repository = gentoo
format = ebuild
names_cache = ${location}/.cache/names
write_cache = /var/cache/paludis/metadata
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dodo1122
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2006
Posts: 347
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr. Tao wrote:
Regarding news patches, it would be nice if you could provide symlink like qt-copy-ebuilds-latest.tar.bz2. With this I could use paludis repository to automatically install them.
/etc/paludis/repositories/qt-copy.conf:
location = ${ROOT}/usr/portage/local/overlay/qt-copy
sync = tar+http://eruonen.serveblog.net/qt-ebuilds/qt-copy-ebuilds-latest.tar.bz2
sync_options = "--rsync-option=--exclude=profiles"
#profiles = ${ROOT}/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2007.0
#eclassdirs = /usr/portage/eclass /usr/portage/local/layman/xeffects/eclass
#distdir = /usr/local/portage/distfiles
master_repository = gentoo
format = ebuild
names_cache = ${location}/.cache/names
write_cache = /var/cache/paludis/metadata


++

That would be nice ;-). Atm i use it without the sync option specified.

dodo
_________________
#zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 968

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am hoping to get the 4.4.0 ebuilds soonish. I am in England at the moment asking questions about visas and such. I need to remotely work on the Linux ebuilds. I wish I brought my Linux Machine rather than my Windows Vista SP1 laptop. Ah well. Updates will be slower.

From what I gather, the patches for Qt versions <4.4 are about finalized. I need to get the final versions of those out. I started working on them before I left, but I didn't finish in time.

I will look into auto-update options for paludis and layman, but I am busy. ;) It's last on my list of things to do.

If anyone knows about any companies in the UK that hire Americans and offer Work Visas, send them my way. I can do anything in the Computer Field and have a Computer Science degree.

I am glad you all like the Qt Copy ebuilds. I just hope I can continue making them high quality, since Qt copy is the only Qt I use. :P

Cheers from England.
_________________
Nothing to read in this sig. Move along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beso_1717
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 263

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StifflerStealth wrote:
I am hoping to get the 4.4.0 ebuilds soonish. I am in England at the moment asking questions about visas and such. I need to remotely work on the Linux ebuilds. I wish I brought my Linux Machine rather than my Windows Vista SP1 laptop. Ah well. Updates will be slower.

From what I gather, the patches for Qt versions <4.4 are about finalized. I need to get the final versions of those out. I started working on them before I left, but I didn't finish in time.

I will look into auto-update options for paludis and layman, but I am busy. ;) It's last on my list of things to do.

If anyone knows about any companies in the UK that hire Americans and offer Work Visas, send them my way. I can do anything in the Computer Field and have a Computer Science degree.

I am glad you all like the Qt Copy ebuilds. I just hope I can continue making them high quality, since Qt copy is the only Qt I use. :P

Cheers from England.


well, my memory usage has dramatically decreased after rebuilding with qtcopy (about 140mbs of less ram used when running the same kde version as before). the only thing that is leaking memory is the sabayon kicker (it starts at about 20mbs at startup and gets to more than 200mbs sometime). this is still a big pain in the a** since the kdemods kde ebuilds still have problems building due to the kurl problem. i think i'll remove it totally since i don't really use beagle indexing on my system. i'll only hope it will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/me wonders if he got lost on the way back from england.

Any chance of a 4.3.4-r1 with qt-copy sometime? :)
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, since SS is MIA, I've puy his qt-copy ebuilds, plus a 4.3.4-r1 ebuild with the qt-copy patches debian/ubuntu uses, on a public git overlay.

sync: git://git.jyujin.de/creidiki/qt-copy.git

browse: http://git.jyujin.de/?p=creidiki/qt-copy.git;a=summary

When 4.4.0 goes final I'll slap a copy of those as well, since I don't think Rion plans to keep his overlay up after qt4.4 snapshots are needed anymore.

Please test and let me know any problems, these are using, where available, SS' later qt-copy tarballs, which are newer than those in the tarball linked in the 1st post.
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))


Last edited by creidiki on Fri Apr 18, 2008 8:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. Tao
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

creidiky: I can't clone your git repo.
git clone git://jyujin.de/creidiki/qt-copy.git wrote:
Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/portage/local/overlay/qt-copy/.git/
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly
fetch-pack from 'git://jyujin.de/creidiki/qt-copy.git' failed.
Fortunatelly I've been able to dl tarball and it seems to be working fine. Thanks for puting it up. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 383
Location: Minsk, Belarus

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

creidiki, can you put 4.4.0rc1 also into your overlay? i want to drop them from mine
_________________
rion-overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure thing Rion, I'll do it as soon as I've had a cup of tea :)
Mr. Tao wrote:
creidiky: I can't clone your git repo.
git clone git://jyujin.de/creidiki/qt-copy.git wrote:
Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/portage/local/overlay/qt-copy/.git/
fatal: The remote end hung up unexpectedly
fetch-pack from 'git://jyujin.de/creidiki/qt-copy.git' failed.
Fortunatelly I've been able to dl tarball and it seems to be working fine. Thanks for puting it up. :)

Yeah I'm not sure what's up, must be routing troubles on our ISP's side.
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And pushed, thanks Rion, I'll take over on those :)
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loftwyr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 970
Location: 43°38'23.62"N 79°27'8.60"W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to get the sources from your git and two things are happening. A git clone errors out with a remoe hangup and I'm getting periodic 500's when I try to browse it (not always, just about half the time).

Where can I dl a tarball?
_________________
My emerge --info
Have you run revdep-rebuild lately? It's in gentoolkit and it's worth a shot if things don't work well.
Celebrating 5 years of Gentoo-ing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The server behind einit's site and repos and my own crap seems to be having issues.

And since that's where I have my webspace and I can't even ssh in anymore ... yeah.

I've been meaning to merge fonts and qt-copy overlay put them on repo.or.cz anyway, I'll do it tomorrow.
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Screw it, I did it now.

sync: git://repo.or.cz/gentoo-soor-overlay.git

browse: http://repo.or.cz/w/gentoo-soor-overlay.git
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loftwyr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 970
Location: 43°38'23.62"N 79°27'8.60"W

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for getting them in one place.

The newspr and qt-copy ebuilds work great!
_________________
My emerge --info
Have you run revdep-rebuild lately? It's in gentoolkit and it's worth a shot if things don't work well.
Celebrating 5 years of Gentoo-ing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qt 4.4.0_rc1 works properly now :oops:

4.4.0 final stuff is all ready and shiney, so it'll be up as soon as the ebuilds hit portage.
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eckos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 197
Location: Houston, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way to make portage stop trying to downgrade it?
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 533MHz RAM | GCC-4.3.2 | Gentoo x86_64 | KDE 4.1.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea what you're talking about, can you be more specific? :)
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eckos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 197
Location: Houston, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ever time I tried upgrading from Qt-4.3.4 to Qt-4.4.0 it would consider try to downgrade it back to 4.3.4
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 533MHz RAM | GCC-4.3.2 | Gentoo x86_64 | KDE 4.1.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creidiki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Varese (Italy)

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's probably because:

A) some qt-based ebuilds dont support 4.4 yet
B) qt-core has a mask against qt < 4.4 alpha, meaning depending on the dependency resolution your package manager does you might have to uninstall qt-4.3 first and then install 4.4 with block discarding.

For example, LyX 1.5.4 in my overlay explicitly depends on qt 4.2/4.3, since it crashes with 4.4 :)
_________________
'((eINIT) (soor overlay))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eckos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 197
Location: Houston, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blah but I want Qt-4.4.0 not 4.3.4 *kicks apps that force that*
_________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 533MHz RAM | GCC-4.3.2 | Gentoo x86_64 | KDE 4.1.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum