Cannot emerge world.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sequalit
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:44 am    Post subject: Cannot emerge world. Reply with quote

Whenever i run the command

Code:
emerge world

I receive these errors... I'm new to Gentoo and don't quite understand why this is happening or how I can fix it to install updates. Is there anyone who can help me out with this? I have been unable to turn up anything useful on google.

Quote:

[blocks B ] <sys-fs/udev-115-r1 (is blocking sys-fs/device-mapper-1.02.22-r5)
[blocks B ] <sys-fs/device-mapper-1.02.19-r1 (is blocking sys-fs/udev-118)
[blocks B ] media-libs/libdts (is blocking media-libs/libdca-0.0.5)
[blocks B ] dev-util/portatosourceview (is blocking app-portage/portato-0.8.6.2)
[blocks B ] sys-apps/setarch (is blocking sys-apps/util-linux-2.13-r3)
[blocks B ] <sys-apps/baselayout-2.0.0_rc (is blocking sys-apps/makedev-3.23.1)
[blocks B ] sys-process/schedutils (is blocking sys-apps/util-linux-2.13-r3)
[blocks B ] app-crypt/libgssapi (is blocking net-libs/libgssglue-0.1)
[blocks B ] <=x11-libs/wxGTK-2.6.4.0-r2 (is blocking app-admin/eselect-wxwidgets-0.7-r1)
Hu
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have packages installed which cannot be present on a system which also has packages that would be installed by emerge world. Please read A Portage Introduction in the Gentoo Handbook for an explanation of blockers. If you are still unsure how to proceed, post back and we can provide more detailed help.
Urban Cowboy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wouldn't that command install everything?

What are you trying to do with "emerge world"?
champ
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper