XFS on amd64?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
oegat
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:22 pm    Post subject: XFS on amd64? Reply with quote

The installation handbook for amd64 gentoo does not recommend using XFS, it claims that it is not sufficiently tested. When searching the forums, I find people using it but also people having problems: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-617720-highlight-xfs+amd64.html

You who have tried around, do you recommend against using XFS on an amd64 system (mine is an athlon x2 with ati sb600 chipset) or would you say it seems safe (from your experience)?

I'd use it for a storage of media files, nothing really critical, but anyway.
Spooky Ghost
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using XFS for several years and rarely encountered problems. My machine is mostly used for serving files but I recently started using XEN and I have a few domU instances using XFS without problems. The only trouble I have experienced is after a crash I've once or twice had to run xfs_repair and there was also a subtle kernel bug which slipped through in recent history but that was quickly caught and only required an xfs_repair to fix. My personal opinion is that it is solid and reliable. YMMV of course:)
Urban Cowboy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used it once and saw no real huge benefit over JFS or reiser. So if there are supposedly issues - I wouldn't bother.
oegat
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spooky Ghost:

Ok! And you use it under amd64 now? On which hardware and for how long on that hardware?
overkll
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote