Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Block device is not a valid root device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nirva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:09 pm    Post subject: Block device is not a valid root device Reply with quote

Hay,

I'm trying to switch from Ubuntu to Gentoo, but I have a little problem while installing it.
I followed the handbook rather strictly.
Except, because I already had an existing Ubuntu installation, I assumed that I could just add another entry to mij /boot/grub/menu.lst.
This is how it looks :

...
title Gentoo Linux 2.6.23-r3
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda3 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3
...

But when I try booting this, everything goes fine until he says :
Block Device /dev/sda3 is not a valid root device.
The root block device is unspecified or not detected.

I would be really happy if someone could help me...
Thanks....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2593
Location: userland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So boot- and root-partition are one and the same in your setup? Can I see your partition layout?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

#:~$ df

/dev/sda1 59741148 44999468 12920876 78% /
varrun 517912 104 517808 1% /var/run
varlock 517912 0 517912 0% /var/lock
udev 517912 76 517836 1% /dev
devshm 517912 0 517912 0% /dev/shm
lrm 517912 34288 483624 7% /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-386/volatile
/dev/sda3 15357604 1387776 13969828 10% /mnt/gentoo

My bootloader is installed at /dev/sda and the gentoo kernel I'm trying to boot is at /dev/sda3.
I also have some swapspace at /dev/sda2, but this isn't listed. I don't know why...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2593
Location: userland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A better choice to display a partition layout is
Code:
fdisk -l /dev/sda

and
Code:
cat /etc/mtab

but anyway I get the picture from your info. Another thought springs to mind:
Are you sure you compiled the filesystem driver of your gentoo root partition into your kernel (not as a module)?
Code:
cat /usr/src/linux/.config  | grep '_FS='

should give entries that end on '=y' rather than '=m' on your root filesystem entry. If they end on '=m', make sure the according modules are packed into the initramfs.
If all this seems in order, does it work when you use a new grub entry like this:
Code:
title Gentoo Linux noframebuffer
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/sda3

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nirva,

At the grub splash screen, press e to edit in in memory grub.conf and change
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda3 udev
to
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
thats sda3 to hda3.

With some chipsets, when you build a PATA and a SATA driver, neither works properly but the device appears and runs slowly as an IDE device, even if its really SATA.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the help I'm getting.

To make things clear :

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 7556 60693538+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 9469 9729 2096482+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 7557 9468 15358140 83 Linux

I just tried this :

title Gentoo Linux noframebuffer
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/sda3

And this gave me a new error :

VFS : Cannot open root device "sda3" or unknown block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option.

I also tried this

title Gentoo Linux noframebuffer
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/sda3:
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3

And it gave me the previous error.

I'll now try the solution from NeddySeagoon and post my results within 5 minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oke, I tried the solution from NeddySeagoon :

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.23-r3
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.23-gentoo-r3

It worked, because it passed the point where it used to get stuck. But now I get an other error.

A little further he says :
Failed to open device /dev/sda3 : no such file or directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2593
Location: userland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is your /etc/fstab. Change there sda3 into hda3, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nirva,

Fix your kernel. When you operate a SATA device with a driver than makes it look like IDE, there is no DMA support so it between 10x and 20x slower than when its operated with the correct driver. That will ruin your Gentoo experiance

As Voltago says, your /etc/fstab entry is still for sda3.
This means the boot up fsck will fail, which is your new problem.

Post your lspci output so we can advise proper kernel settings.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very very much.
I finally booted into my gentoo !
I'm very pleased that I can go on now !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nirva,

Put fixing your kernel near the top of your list of things to do.
Yes, you can go on now but it will be very slow for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nirva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I indeed noted that DMA was not activated.
Here is my lspci.

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM/GMS/910GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev d3)
00:1e.2 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) SATA Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M22 [Mobility Radeon X300]
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX (rev 02)
03:01.0 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev b3)
03:01.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C552 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 08)
03:01.2 Generic system peripheral [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 17)
03:03.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection (rev 05)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lskywalker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I actually have the same problem (also changing from Ubuntu) and would be glad to see a solution here ;)

I tried to compile "serial ATA (prod) and parallel ATA (experimental) drivers" with genkernel (not as module, but into the kernel), but it didn't work.

Which entry do I have to select?

[EDIT]lspci shows:

Code:
lucas@chopin:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Memory controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Memory Controller (rev a3)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 ISA Bridge (rev f3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation CK804 SMBus (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 IDE (rev f2)
00:07.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev f3)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev f3)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev f3)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev f3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6600] (rev a2)
05:02.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
05:04.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7134/SAA7135HL Video Broadcast Decoder (rev 01)
lucas@chopin:~$

[/EDIT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luqas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 588
Location: /US/Texas/Beaumont

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lskywalker: Did you select NVIDIA SATA support under Serial ATA (prod) and Parallel ATA (experimental) drivers? Make sure you did like above and compile it into the kernel and not as a module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lskywalker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, it worked perfectly! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nirva,

You need these kernel settings for your SATA drive.
The post says Intel ICH7 but it applies to ICH6 and later.

You will have to swap your grub.conf and fstab back the sda too
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Duvall
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Location: USA, Missouri, Columbia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:15 pm    Post subject: Nvidia SATA problem fixed by turning off ACPI in bios Reply with quote

Struggled with this problem of not finding my SATA drives for a while. By turning off ACPI in the bios the system booted without any problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lance
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem and fixed it following NeddySeagoon's instruction.

Thank you NeddySeagoon!
_________________
choose Gentoo, choose freedom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum