Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Incorrect MHz in /proc/cpuinfo after new BIOS flash
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gzunk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 149
Location: Dunblane, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:26 pm    Post subject: Incorrect MHz in /proc/cpuinfo after new BIOS flash Reply with quote

I just flashed my BIOS on my motherboard, and cpuinfo now reports that my cpu is running at 900 MHz rather than 2.4GHz. Now it doesn't feel like it's running at that speed, and ffmpeg creates H264 videos just as quickly as before - so it looks like it's a reporting issue. CPUZ in windows shows the correct speed - so what do I have to do to get gentoo showing the correct speed again. Any ideas?

Code:

processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU           @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 7
cpu MHz         : 900.000
cache size      : 4096 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 4
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 4
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm syscall nx lm constant_tsc pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips        : 4803.03
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual


When it boots up the kernel seems fine about it though...

Code:

Kernel command line: root=/dev/sdc2 vga=794 splash=silent
Initializing CPU#0
PID hash table entries: 4096 (order: 12, 32768 bytes)
Extended CMOS year: 2000
time.c: Detected 2399.976 MHz processor.
Console: colour dummy device 80x25
Dentry cache hash table entries: 524288 (order: 10, 4194304 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 262144 (order: 9, 2097152 bytes)
Checking aperture...
PCI-DMA: Using software bounce buffering for IO (SWIOTLB)
Placing software IO TLB between 0x58d0000 - 0x98d0000
Memory: 4046768k/4980736k available (3481k kernel code, 145804k reserved, 1182k data, 220k init)
SLUB: Genslabs=22, HWalign=64, Order=0-1, MinObjects=4, CPUs=4, Nodes=1
Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. 4803.03 BogoMIPS (lpj=2401517)
Security Framework v1.0.0 initialized
Mount-cache hash table entries: 256
CPU: L1 I cache: 32K, L1 D cache: 32K
CPU: L2 cache: 4096K
using mwait in idle threads.
CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
CPU: Processor Core ID: 0
CPU0: Thermal monitoring enabled (TM2)
Freeing SMP alternatives: 27k freed
ACPI: Core revision 20070126
Using local APIC timer interrupts.
result 16666488
Detected 16.666 MHz APIC timer.
Booting processor 1/4 APIC 0x1
Initializing CPU#1
Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. 4800.02 BogoMIPS (lpj=2400012)
CPU: L1 I cache: 32K, L1 D cache: 32K
CPU: L2 cache: 4096K
CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
CPU: Processor Core ID: 1
CPU1: Thermal monitoring enabled (TM2)
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU           @ 2.40GHz stepping 07
checking TSC synchronization [CPU#0 -> CPU#1]: passed.
Booting processor 2/4 APIC 0x3
Initializing CPU#2
Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. 4759.04 BogoMIPS (lpj=2379523)
CPU: L1 I cache: 32K, L1 D cache: 32K
CPU: L2 cache: 4096K
CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
CPU: Processor Core ID: 3
CPU2: Thermal monitoring enabled (TM2)
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU           @ 2.40GHz stepping 07
checking TSC synchronization [CPU#0 -> CPU#2]: passed.
Booting processor 3/4 APIC 0x2
Initializing CPU#3
Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. 4800.05 BogoMIPS (lpj=2400029)
CPU: L1 I cache: 32K, L1 D cache: 32K
CPU: L2 cache: 4096K
CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
CPU: Processor Core ID: 2
CPU3: Thermal monitoring enabled (TM2)
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU           @ 2.40GHz stepping 07
checking TSC synchronization [CPU#0 -> CPU#3]: passed.
Brought up 4 CPUs
migration_cost=35,3899

_________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 | Asus P5K | 8GB DDR-2 800
Sapphire Radeon 4870 X2 | 30" Samsung SM305T+
(4xSATA) 3 TB | 2 x DVD+-RW DL (Pioneer 112D 115D)
Logitech X-530 5.1 | DiNovo Edge | MX Revolution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just guessing here, but could it be cpufreq? If you are using the ondemand governor, it could run at 900mhz (for example), but throttle up to full speed when you need it (like video encoding).

hih,
poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
broken_chaos
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 370
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

99% chance that's what it is. I have a 2.33 Ghz Core 2 Duo. This is from my cpuinfo:

cpu MHz : 1000.000

That's the speed it's running at, scaled all the way down with ondemand cpufreq. It scales up effectively instantly when needed.

Edit: To test this, do something heavy (i.e. the video encoding you noted) and then, while doing that, check cpuinfo. It should be at the correct highest speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gzunk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 149
Location: Dunblane, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think that's it. I do have SpeedStep turned on (and did have it turned on before). Before it jumped between 1.6GHz and 2.4GHz, now it says it jumps between 600MHz and 900MHz. I've tried looking at it under heavy load (ffmpeg H264 encoding with 6 threads) and it still says 900MHz.

Code:

top - 08:35:33 up 15 min,  3 users,  load average: 2.12, 0.56, 0.23
Tasks: 164 total,   1 running, 163 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s): 96.4%us,  0.2%sy,  0.0%ni,  3.2%id,  0.0%wa,  0.1%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   4047272k total,   743788k used,  3303484k free,    84528k buffers
Swap:  4096564k total,        0k used,  4096564k free,   228304k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
 6447 thomsona  25   0  349m  91m 3116 S  385  2.3   1:56.58 ffmpeg             
 6341 thomsona  15   0  102m  20m 9604 S    2  0.5   0:06.48 compiz             
 5195 root      15   0  136m  44m 8324 S    0  1.1   0:13.15 X                 
 6362 thomsona  15   0  129m  20m  12m S    0  0.5   0:00.37 gnome-terminal     


Code:

processor       : 3
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU           @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 7
cpu MHz         : 900.000
cache size      : 4096 KB


Code:

top - 08:37:53 up 18 min,  3 users,  load average: 2.63, 1.66, 0.70
Tasks: 162 total,   1 running, 161 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s):  0.1%us,  0.1%sy,  0.0%ni, 99.8%id,  0.0%wa,  0.1%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   4047272k total,   776780k used,  3270492k free,    84612k buffers
Swap:  4096564k total,        0k used,  4096564k free,   345296k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
 6341 thomsona  15   0  102m  20m 9608 S    1  0.5   0:07.90 compiz             
  228 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.27 ata/0             
 5195 root      15   0  136m  44m 8324 S    0  1.1   0:14.79 X                 
11433 thomsona  15   0 10712 1348  948 R    0  0.0   0:00.06 top     


Code:

processor       : 3
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU           @ 2.40GHz
stepping        : 7
cpu MHz         : 600.000

_________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 | Asus P5K | 8GB DDR-2 800
Sapphire Radeon 4870 X2 | 30" Samsung SM305T+
(4xSATA) 3 TB | 2 x DVD+-RW DL (Pioneer 112D 115D)
Logitech X-530 5.1 | DiNovo Edge | MX Revolution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does cpufreq-info say?

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gzunk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 149
Location: Dunblane, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What does cpufreq-info say?


I don't have it installed - which package is it in?
_________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 | Asus P5K | 8GB DDR-2 800
Sapphire Radeon 4870 X2 | 30" Samsung SM305T+
(4xSATA) 3 TB | 2 x DVD+-RW DL (Pioneer 112D 115D)
Logitech X-530 5.1 | DiNovo Edge | MX Revolution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gzunk wrote:
Quote:
What does cpufreq-info say?


I don't have it installed - which package is it in?


The package is cpufrequtils

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gzunk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 149
Location: Dunblane, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shame it doesn't tell me anything I don't already know...

Code:

barney ~ # cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: acpi-cpufreq
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0
  hardware limits: 600 MHz - 900 MHz
  available frequency steps: 900 MHz, 600 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 600 MHz and 900 MHz.
                  The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 600 MHz (asserted by call to hardware).
analyzing CPU 1:
  driver: acpi-cpufreq
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 1
  hardware limits: 600 MHz - 900 MHz
  available frequency steps: 900 MHz, 600 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 600 MHz and 900 MHz.
                  The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 600 MHz (asserted by call to hardware).
analyzing CPU 2:
  driver: acpi-cpufreq
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 2
  hardware limits: 600 MHz - 900 MHz
  available frequency steps: 900 MHz, 600 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 600 MHz and 900 MHz.
                  The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 600 MHz (asserted by call to hardware).
analyzing CPU 3:
  driver: acpi-cpufreq
  CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 3
  hardware limits: 600 MHz - 900 MHz
  available frequency steps: 900 MHz, 600 MHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 600 MHz and 900 MHz.
                  The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 600 MHz (asserted by call to hardware).

_________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 | Asus P5K | 8GB DDR-2 800
Sapphire Radeon 4870 X2 | 30" Samsung SM305T+
(4xSATA) 3 TB | 2 x DVD+-RW DL (Pioneer 112D 115D)
Logitech X-530 5.1 | DiNovo Edge | MX Revolution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logge
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 131
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey!!

I have the same cpuinfo for my Q6600.

Had any progress in this matter??

//Logge
_________________
I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logge
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 131
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump

Anyone sitting on any kind of information about why the q6600 doesn't run faster than maximum 900MHz.

I've tried to set the maximum to 2400MHz with cpufreq-set but to no success.

Any ideas??

//Oskar
_________________
I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9882
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

likely it's a firmware or driver bug. Your bogomips looks correct, have you run anything that tests the speed of your machine? The bogomips would be a lot lower (say, around 1200-1800) if it really was running at that speed.

I haven't gotten my C2Q setup in a machine yet (still need to acquire a motherboard for it), so I don't really know what I'm talking about...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blueworm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 962

PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem with a E6550 if I turn cpu scaling off in kernel its OK.
From what I can make out this is a bug in BIOS not handing over the correct acpi information to the kernel.
See this bug in kernel bugzilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logge
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 131
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm..

So that's what it is...

I think that the cpu scaling stuff made my audio lag so gone the scaling stuff will be...

// Oskar
_________________
I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
axelj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Bug? Reply with quote

It seems to be a bug in my tickless kernel of the fedora core 8 too.
cpu frequency is really at 600 Mhz / 900 MHz.
We are writing video transcoders from Mpeg2 to h264 or dv blah...
Our video needs forever to be transcoded.

Although we were able to "unlock" the Intel Q6600 with the following trick.

We didnt start "cpuspeed" when starting the system. on a fedora machine we can
do this with "ntsysv".
When the cpuspeed initializing script is not started the "acpi-cpufreq" is not loaded
when typing "lsmod".
If it is still loaded the a "rmmod acpi-cpufreq" will unload the acpi kernel module.

if thats done the /proc/cpuinfo shows all 4 processors with 2400 MHz and lshw shows
2400 MHz too.

Far more important:
we are able to transcode with 75 fps again :)

hope that helps for the ones who need the power for video-apps.

cheers, axel

flowworks.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logge
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 131
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turning off CIA2 in the BIOS of my GigaByte motherboard solved my problem with incorrect mhz.

Infact, it stabilized my system alot. No more wierd going-into-the-future-because-time-flies-away-under-heavy-cpu-load experience.
_________________
I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum