Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
why would ssh depend on a particular interface?[solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:06 am    Post subject: why would ssh depend on a particular interface?[solved] Reply with quote

At a friends house I could not get on to his home wireless so we plugged in ethernet cables between computers.
I made a temporary conf.d/net and stopped wlan0 and started eth0.
Any tips on temporary network configs appriciated too!
I could ssh into his mac but not back to my gentoo laptop.
Oddly enough OSX does not seem able use any iptables type of forwarding like it used to!
I remember a box one could check to have it act as the dhcp server.
In order to turn on ehternet sharing it had to bring down his wireless.
No big deal.
His wireless was strange though. It was a qwest modem. It had a password but not encryption so I did not know where or how to pass the password.
Code:
* Starting wlan0
 *   Configuration not set for wlan0 - assuming DHCP
 *   Bringing up wlan0
 *     dhcp
 *       network interface wlan0 does not exist
 *       Please verify hardware or kernel module (driver)                             [ !! ]
 * ERROR:  cannot start sshd as net.wlan0 could not start

Why would ssh need wlan0? eth0 is up nd running?
I could only get ssh to work on cmd line. Not with fish protocall in Konqueror.
Alternatively what is a good way to sharefiles with OSX?

here are some logs
Code:
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ifplugd(eth0)[15960]: ifplugd 0.28 initializing.
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ifplugd(eth0)[15960]: Using interface eth0/00:08:1D:4E:A9:A4 with driver <e100> (version: 3.5.17-k4-NAPI)
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ifplugd(eth0)[15960]: Using detection mode: SIOCETHTOOL
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ifplugd(eth0)[15960]: Initialization complete, link beat detected.
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ifplugd(eth0)[15960]: Executing '/etc/ifplugd/ifplugd.action eth0 up'.
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ifplugd(eth0)[15960]: Program execution failed, return value is 1.
Jan  6 21:36:38 lapcat ifplugd(eth0)[15960]: Exiting.



And here is some wireless logs:
Code:
Jan  6 20:59:02 lapcat ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
Jan  6 20:59:04 lapcat ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
Jan  6 20:59:05 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: dhcpcd 3.1.5 starting
Jan  6 20:59:05 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: hardware address = 00:03:2f:38:16:70
Jan  6 20:59:05 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: DUID = 00:01:00:01:0e:a4:e4:7d:00:03:2f:38:16:78
Jan  6 20:59:05 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
Jan  6 20:59:11 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: offered 10.0.2.2 from 192.168.0.67 `ibook-g4.local'
Jan  6 20:59:11 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: checking 10.0.2.2 is available on attached networks
Jan  6 20:59:12 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: leased 10.0.2.2 for 3564 seconds
Jan  6 20:59:12 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: no renewal time supplied, assuming 1782 seconds
Jan  6 20:59:12 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: no rebind time supplied, assuming 3118 seconds
Jan  6 20:59:12 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: adding IP address 10.0.2.2/24
Jan  6 20:59:12 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: adding route to 10.0.2.0/24 metric 2000
Jan  6 20:59:12 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: removing route to 10.0.2.0/24 metric 0
Jan  6 20:59:12 lapcat dhcpcd[10122]: wlan0: adding default route via 10.0.2.1 metric 2000
Jan  6 20:59:15 lapcat wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
Jan  6 21:25:15 lapcat sshd[12741]: Server listening on :: port 22.
Jan  6 21:25:15 lapcat sshd[12741]: error: Bind to port 22 on 0.0.0.0 failed: Address already in use.
Jan  6 21:25:42 lapcat ndiswrapper: device wlan0 removed


[/code]

My guess is my wireless connectted to his g4 and not his base station in the las log here.
His base station has a name.
and that messed up ssh.
did not have lot of time to play with it.
It would be nice to have something in KDE to set up temporary file transfer network configs.

Another way would be for me to set up my laptop to be a basestation and run dhcp and just have him connect to me. I will have to look into a how to for this.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo


Last edited by turtles on Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rc-update del net.wlan0
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Veldrin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

or in /etc/conf.d/rc
Code:
 RC_NET_STRICT_CHECKING="lo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks I deleted it from the default run level.
I had a little issue this am in a coffee shop whan I inserted the pcmcia card udev did not auto load the module.
Must have ben a quirk because it works fine other wise when I insert the card it loads the module.
if it happens again I will write a udev rule for the card.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum