Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why these improvement is not in implemented?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
duckz
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:13 pm    Post subject: Why these improvement is not in implemented? Reply with quote

I've been using gentoo for almost 2 years, and keep wondering why these good tricks (improvement) is not made default by gentoo dev?

1. Squashed /usr/portage. normal emerge --sync will take hours and lots of harddisk space and activity, while if the portage tree is distributed in squashed fs format will be very small in size with less disk activity in the server and user.
2. axel download instead of wget, its clearly a major improvement in download speed using axel compares to wget.

so why the good improvement in not implemented by default?.

just a thought though.

duckz
Veldrin
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fair question.

1. the problem is not the portage tree itself, but rather the whole package "database" which lies in /var/db.

2. My guess is that wget is pretty old and stable, and for a package manager you need something that "just works" (TM).
OTOH I don't really see and advantage of having multiple connection open. On a slow connection (56k, ISDN and alike) it is more likely that you create more overhead, thus slowing down the entire download process. And on a faster connection (ADSL, Universities) the download time is not really an issue.

Quote:
so why the good improvement in not implemented by default?.

And as always, those who code decide.

just my .02$
V.
JeliJami
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Why these improvement is not in implemented? Reply with quote

duckz wrote: