Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
First Installation help needed- at wit's end.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 3:29 am    Post subject: First Installation help needed- at wit's end. Reply with quote

OK- After several attempts at installing Gentoo over the last 9 months, I'm trying again, determined to succeed this time. I'm on dialup. I have very good hardware (self-built), and a lot of experience in Mandrake, compilimg kernels and software, rebuilding srpms,installing OS's, optimizing, partitioning disks, etc. In other words, I'm not a total newbie, and deal with command line editors OK.

I have a spare 9GB drive and box to work on. I've installed a minimal Mandrake 9.1 with boot, root, and swap. I prefer to dual boot, with Gentoo sharing boot and swap, preferably using lilo. 2GB to Mandrake, the rest for Gentoo. I've read and reseached the forums and all the install docs, and printed them out.

Everything I've seen on setting up the ppp connection is either outdated, meaning it refers to older versions of Gentoo, or doesn't work, at least for me.