View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
borfig Apprentice
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 162
|
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:49 pm Post subject: NVidia and TuxOnIce [SOLVED] |
|
|
I have an NVidia GeForce FX Go5200 chip in my Toshiba laptop.
I have tuxonice-sources-2.6.24 (with TuxOnIce enabled to suspend to disk) and nvidia-drivers-169.09 (with ACPI enabled).
I don't have AGPGART in the kernel at all (and NvAgp=1 in my xorg.conf)
Without the nvidia module, hibernation works like a charm.
With the nvidia module, my screen is turned off after resume.
Any ideas how to handle this???
Summary of this thread (for the lazy ones..)
Solution: use VBEtool to restart the laptop screen.
Last edited by borfig on Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:18 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jogie214 Apprentice
Joined: 15 Aug 2004 Posts: 159 Location: Cologne / Germany
|
Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I had the same problem, setting
Code: |
ProcSetting extra_pages_allowance 0
|
in suspend.conf in /etc/hibernate fixed it.
Hope this helps
Seb _________________ Desktop: Ryzen7 1700x / x370 / Radeon RX 550 / Gentoo amd64 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
borfig Apprentice
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 162
|
Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
failure |
|
Back to top |
|
|
robinmarlow Apprentice
Joined: 10 Mar 2004 Posts: 167
|
Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 8:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
On my desktop I found that i had to enable the VBEtool options
I was previously using the suspend2 sources but have since discovered that
sys-power/suspend combined with sys-power/kpowersave & sys-power/powersave work a lot better.
again using the vbetool options.
See if that helps
Robin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
borfig Apprentice
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 162
|
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:17 pm Post subject: Success!!! |
|
|
VBEtool worked for me
The more interesting thing is that after resuming from hibernation the screen was not off as I though but in another state.
I have written a script that I called /usr/local/sbin/restart_screen.sh
Code: | #! /bin/sh
/usr/sbin/vbetool dpms off
/usr/sbin/vbetool dpms on |
that restarts the screen.
in /etc/hibernate/common.conf I added:
Code: | OnResume 20 /usr/local/sbin/restart_screen.sh |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|