Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub... [RESOLVED] Thanks!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Neje
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 71
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't forget that (hd0,1) is /dev/hda2, and that /dev/hda2 is /boot. So I think the line in your grub.conf should look more like
kernel (hd0,1)/bzImage root=/dev/hda4
Also, don't forget to mount /boot (/dev/hda2) before you try to copy a bzImage there, a friend of mine (not me, seriously ;-) ) fell for that one a couple of times.
Good luck,
Neje
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r_yuan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From Knoppix:
Code:
sudo su
mount /mnt /hda2
mount /mnt/hda4
cp /mnt/hda4/usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /mnt/hda2/boot/
umount /mnt/hda4
umount /mnt/hda2
exit

The line in grub.conf should then be:
Code:
kernel (hd0,1)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda4 vga=791

Select the vga=xxx that suits you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaysauter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

It is done!

Now I have two minor problems to fix. Firstly, I can't see the bootloader - choicer (Choice between Gentoo/WinXP) However, I know how to start both. I think I have to activate the framebuffer in my kernel.

The second problem is that I cant get superuser from normal-user. If I can get superuser, I haven't tried. I have to go now and I'll be back afternoon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r_yuan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kaysauter wrote:
Firstly, I can't see the bootloader - choicer (Choice between Gentoo/WinXP) However, I know how to start both. I think I have to activate the framebuffer in my kernel.

You mean the selection menu screen is garbled, but you can still select the OS to boot? I not using the framebuffer and yet GRUB works fine.

kaysauter wrote:
The second problem is that I cant get superuser from normal-user. If I can get superuser, I haven't tried. I have to go now and I'll be back afternoon.

Use su, which is change user ID or to become super-user. It should then prompt you for the root password (the one you entered during installation). sudo su won't work in this case because it is not installed yet.

Mmm, I can't help you with "afternoon", I'm really bad at calculating world time. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaysauter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had more work to do than I thought - I had to help my mother (I have holidays at the moment 8) ) So its 18:42 here in Zurich now.

Well, I cant change with su but with exit and login. So this problem is solved.

But when I wanted to emerge or go to internet with lynx I couldnt. Well, I have thought that I haven't to configure my network because I get with a router into internet. Furthermore, when I installed debian directly from net, I hadn't to configure anything. Also in LiveCD or Knoppix it was no problem.

I've configured now under root in gentoo /etc/hostname , /etc/dnsdomainname and /etc/hosts.

I have to admit that I have no experience with configuration of networks. So I used the IPs of install guide chapter 20.

I have got an enthernet card pci 10/100.

what can I do now?

Kay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r_yuan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see why you cannot "su" under Gentoo, provided that you have the right password. In any case, from the console (ie: not X11), press Alt-F2 to switch to the second terminal, press Alt-F1 to return to the first. This beats the cycle of logins and logouts.

The IP value of 192.168.1.1 in chapter 20 is for private networks and is fine for local networks (ie: home use). Also look at chapter 21:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-install.xml#doc_chap21 . The Gentoo installation guide is very well written.

kaysauter wrote:
what can I do now?

Find out which ethernet card you have and the corresponding driver it uses. Then figure out how you managed to get online under the LiveCD or Knoppix.

You're beyond GRUB right now. Start a new topic under Networking & Security.


Last edited by r_yuan on Thu Jul 10, 2003 6:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Neje
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 71
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more thing that's slightly on-topic (considered to belong in "Installing Gentoo", at least): read the sticky thread (first one in the "Installing Gentoo" section) about the su thing.
And, going offtopic now (couldn't resist), the IP (192.168.1.1) in section 20 is an example of a static IP address. What you probably have, if you didn't have to configure anything before, is a dhcp network, your router probably assigns an IP address to your computer. Can't tell you much about dhcp, though, as I don't use it myself, but I think you should delete the 192.168.1.1 line and go from there.
Good luck, and happy holidays,
Neje
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaysauter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Konppix says

Quote:
Network device eth0. DHCP broadcasting for IP


I therefore tried several changes of /etc/hosts but the kernel always tells that he could not bring up eth0.

My card is a
REALTEK
SURECOM EP-320X-R
100/10/M-PCI Adapter.

I didn't found anything for it for /etc/modules.autoload

kay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaysauter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I now guess that I have to install some kind of module of my kernel. But there are some modules which seems to be related with DHCP. Which one should I activate?

Kay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r_yuan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2003 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please pose your question in Networking & Security, I'll answer it there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum