Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
masked kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xlordt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:52 am    Post subject: masked kernel Reply with quote

Can anyone tell me why I keep getting this error.

Code:

(chroot) ubuntu / # emerge -va gentoo-sources

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies -
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-kernel/gentoo-sources" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.24-r2 (masked by: missing keyword)
- sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.24-r1 (masked by: missing keyword)


Just incase this is on a new system that I am trying to install gentoo on.. now I never seen this before.. so I am asking.. do I unmask it? to me it doesnt seem normal.
_________________
Only The Strong Servives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 174
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does your make.conf look like?
Code:
cat /etc/make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xlordt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

  GNU nano 2.0.2            File: /etc/make.conf                               

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# This should not be changed unless you know exactly what you are doing.  You
# should probably be using a different stage, instead.
CHOST="i486-pc-linux-gnu"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
USE="-gtk -gnome qt3 qt4 kde dvd alsa cdr"

_________________
Only The Strong Servives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 174
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You want to configure that a little more before you start installing things. Read up on the install guides. You want to specify your hardware (video, sound, CPU), and also all of the package options you would like. A comprehensive list is here:

http://www.gentoo.org/dyn/use-index.xml

If you have any specific questions post them here, but there is a ton of documentation on the internet and on the Gentoo wiki. I suggest searching there before posting on the forums, you'll get your answer quicker.

Good luck, and once again, if you have any specific questions post here and me and the other dedicated Gentoo users will see what we can do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The real question here is why is a simple
Code:
emerge -av gentoo-sources
is attempting to pull in a ~x86 version of the kernel source :?

I take it your still chrooted and installing. Have you updated portage yet?


Also, although this is unrelated to the issue, you probably want to change you CHOST in /etc/make.conf from "i486-pc-linux-gnu" to "i686-pc-linux-gnu".




Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 174
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It isn't trying to pull the masked version. In his error post it was masked by the " " keyword, which means it isn't showing us what is masking it. Possibly because he hasn't specified his architecture?

I would say that since you have portage installed, set up your USE flags, then reboot into Gentoo and then do the emergeing.

Also, note that he has i486 as his CHOST, I would suggest starting over correctly because he picked the wrong stage, unless he has a pentium II, but I strongly doubt that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WakkaDojo wrote:
It isn't trying to pull the masked version. In his error post it was masked by the " " keyword, which means it isn't showing us what is masking it. Possibly because he hasn't specified his architecture?

Well gentoo-sources is still ~ for x86, that's why I presumed it was the missing keyword. Anyhow, we can find out for sure if we can see his
Code:
emerge --info



WakkaDojo wrote:

I would say that since you have portage installed, set up your USE flags, then reboot into Gentoo and then do the emergeing.

How is he going to do that without a kernel? :wink:


WakkaDojo wrote:

Also, note that he has i486 as his CHOST, I would suggest starting over correctly because he picked the wrong stage, unless he has a pentium II, but I strongly doubt that.

He just needs to change it to i686 and either emerge -e world at some point after initial install or accept that most stuff will be recompiled anyway when he updates (due to the age of the latest stage 3's).

xlordt:

Please post your
Code:
emerge --info




Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 174
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Gentoo tutorials discourage changing the CHOST variable. So it is actually better to start with the fresh, correct stage than to change the CHOST.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although I understand why that advise is given, I've done it plenty of times, it should be ok to go from i486 to i686, especially since it's a fresh install that's not even been booted yet :)
Like I say, you need to recompile all packages, but that will pretty much happen when they do a emerge -uDNpv world :)



Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xlordt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried copying what I could, installing off a ubuntu cd.


Portage 2.1.4.4 (default-linux, gcc-4.1.1, glibc-2.5-r0, 2.6.22-14-generic i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.22-14-generic i686 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5$
Timestamp of tree: Sat, 16 Feb 2008 02:30:04 +0000
app-shells/bash: 3.2_p17-r1
dev-lang/python: 2.4.3-r4
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r6
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.9
sys-apps/sandbox: 1.2.18.1-r2
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.61
sys-devel/automake: 1.10
sys-devel/binutils: 2.16.1-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.3.14
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.22
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.17-r2
CBUILD="i486-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
CHOST="i486-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc"

sys-devel/autoconf: 2.61
sys-devel/automake: 1.10
sys-devel/binutils: 2.16.1-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.3.14
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.22
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.17-r2
CBUILD="i486-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
CHOST="i486-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/gconf /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="distlocks metadata-transfer sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans us$
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux$
LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress$

USE="alsa bitmap-fonts cdr cli cracklib dri dvd fortran iconv isdnlog kde midi $
Unset: ACCEPT_KEYWORDS, CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, $
_________________
Only The Strong Servives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want a regular 32bit OS, then add this line
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
to your /etc/make.conf

...and read the other comments :)



Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 174
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah that explains why it was masked: not by the indication of the unstable package ~x86, but because the basic architecture keyword was not set in the first place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xlordt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jcat wrote:
If you want a regular 32bit OS, then add this line
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
to your /etc/make.conf

...and read the other comments :)



Cheers,
jcat
sorry for the lack of knowledge here.. but what if I have a 64 bit system? what can I add there...anyways.. on to reading. also I dont remember having to do this before.
_________________
Only The Strong Servives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WakkaDojo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 174
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
You don't need an amd processor for that to work, just like you don't need an intel processor for the i386 specifications for 32-bit systems. The 64-bit compile option is called amd64 just because amd was the first to produce the 64 bit processor, but that keyword works for all 64-bit systems.

And again I urge you to set up that make.conf a little more before charging ahead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21706

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not tested this, but I believe that setting ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64" is not sufficient to install a 64 bit environment. That only tells Portage that you are willing to install packages which are considered stable on amd64, but it does not tell Portage to build them for a 64 bit environment. You need a CHOST/CBUILD of x86_64-foo for that. Switching between 32 bit and 64 bit is generally held to be so much trouble that you should just reinstall instead of trying to convert. If you want a 64 bit environment, you should start over using an x86_64 stage3 tarball.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54300
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xlordt,

Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# This should not be changed unless you know exactly what you are doing.  You
# should probably be using a different stage, instead.
CHOST="i486-pc-linux-gnu"


I'm a little late into this thread but from your CHOST, it looks like you have the wrong stage 3 tarball.
You toolchain will run on a 486 or later CPU. However, it will produce code for whatever you set in CFLAGS, so its not that big a deal.
Building things will take a little longer than they would have done otherwise.

Do not change the CHOST setting. Post back if you think you need to.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xlordt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
xlordt,

Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# This should not be changed unless you know exactly what you are doing.  You
# should probably be using a different stage, instead.
CHOST="i486-pc-linux-gnu"


I'm a little late into this thread but from your CHOST, it looks like you have the wrong stage 3 tarball.
You toolchain will run on a 486 or later CPU. However, it will produce code for whatever you set in CFLAGS, so its not that big a deal.
Building things will take a little longer than they would have done otherwise.

Do not change the CHOST setting. Post back if you think you need to.

Ya.. I think I will keep it as it is.. I have been fighting with this for hours now... the funny thing is that I have installed gentoo a few times before and never ran in to problems at boot installation. Anyways.. I guess I can say that I am almost done.. and everything is running smooth now... since I took my self some rest :).. btw thanx for all the help...
_________________
Only The Strong Servives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad you're back on track :)


Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dembondy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: Same problem Reply with quote

I have had this exact same problem, and it is my first time installing gentoo. I think I have followed every step in the installation guide, and I don't think I read anything saying that ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" was needed in /etc/make.conf file. Maybe that should be changed in the manual...
Anyway, I'm going to try changing my make.conf file and see if I can continue my installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, one shouldn't have to add ACCEPT_KEYWORDS if the appropriate stage tarball was downloaded.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Same problem Reply with quote

dembondy wrote:
I don't think I read anything saying that ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" was needed in /etc/make.conf file.

Normally, ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is set by the profile, but it looks like xlordt didn't have his /etc/make.profile symlink set correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Same problem Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
dembondy wrote:
I don't think I read anything saying that ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" was needed in /etc/make.conf file.

Normally, ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is set by the profile, but it looks like xlordt didn't have his /etc/make.profile symlink set correctly.


Ah, so it's not the stage tarball that sets it, it's the profile. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Same problem Reply with quote

kalos wrote:
Ah, so it's not the stage tarball that sets it, it's the profile. :)

No, you were right :wink:

The stage tarball should already have /etc/make.profile pointing someplace reasonable (not /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay. If, say, the wrong tarball was downloaded, but a new profile was to be selected (as in the handbook), would this:

Code:

ln -snf /usr/portage/profiles/<profile name> /etc/make.profile


automatically take care of the problem anyway, and add the appropriate ACCEPT_KEYWORDS into /etc/make.conf?
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The default ACCEPT_KEYWORDS for that profile would show up in "emerge --info", even if nothing was set in /etc/make.conf

EDIT : Yes that would take care of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum