Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Another Domain Name Resolution Problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
munchboyd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:00 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Another Domain Name Resolution Problem Reply with quote

This is another problem with domain resolution. I've looked around for the past few days to no avail.

I'm able to ping external IP such as 64.233.187.99, google, but when I try to ping google.com I get the unkown host error.

cat /etc/resolv.conf returns the following.
Code:
nameserver 151.164.8.201
nameserver 204.60.203.179
nameserver 192.168.15.1
nameserver 4.2.2.1
Those IP's are correct.

cat /etc/conf.d/net returns
Code:
modules=( "ifconfig" )
config_eth0=( "192.168.15.106/24" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.15.1" )
192.168.15.1 is my router.

route -n returns
Code:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.15.0    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.15.1    0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
This also looks correct to me.

ifconfig returns
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:E9:85:79:65
          inet addr:192.168.15.106  Bcast:192.168.15.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:32928 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:39715 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:5140560 (4.9 Mb)  TX bytes:7390179 (7.0 Mb)
          Interrupt:18 Base address:0xc000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:3948 (3.8 Kb)  TX bytes:3948 (3.8 Kb)

The kicker with this problem is that I can boot to a live cd and set the network up manually with the above settings, and it will work fine. Any help or guidance you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Seth


Last edited by munchboyd on Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you ping any of those name servers? (although they may not be ping-able anyway)

Can you post the output of
Code:
cat /etc/host.conf




Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
munchboyd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my host.conf.
Code:
order hosts, bind
multi off


I am also able to ping all 4 nameservers. The first two are from my isp, then my router, and the last one is an open nameserver.

Thanks for the fast response, by the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 23062

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of for a in $( awk '/^nameserver / { print $2; }' < /etc/resolv.conf ) ; do dig google.com @${a} ; done when run from the configuration where DNS does not work? If you do not have dig, then emerge net-dns/bind-tools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
munchboyd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for a in $( awk '/^nameserver / { print $2; }' < /etc/resolv.conf ) ; do dig google.com @${a} ; done returned.
Quote:
; <<>> DiG 9.4.1-P1 <<>> google.com @151.164.8.201
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

; <<>> DiG 9.4.1-P1 <<>> google.com @204.60.203.179
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

; <<>> DiG 9.4.1-P1 <<>> google.com @192.168.15.1
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

; <<>> DiG 9.4.1-P1 <<>> google.com @4.2.2.1
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

This seemed to indicate that the DNS requests were being filtered out by a firewall, and since for troubleshoot purposes I have this computer set as DMZ on my router my software firewall had to be the culprit. It's really blatantly obvious that my firewall was probably the culprit. So I shut down my firewall and all works well. Now it just becomes a problem of me correctly configuring Bastille, but that is another problem for another thread. Thanks for your help Hu and jcat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem :)


Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum