View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
hajit n00b
Joined: 07 Sep 2007 Posts: 9 Location: Russia
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@NeddySeagoon:
could you please put the following at the beginning of this thread?
people keep on asking on how to check this kernel out etc etc,
thanks
checking the sources out
creating a patch
example:
Code: |
git diff v2.6.24 v2.6.24-zen1 > 2.6.24-zen1.patch |
update sources (inside the directory)
Code: | Update
Code:
cd /usr/src/zen-sources
git pull |
you are in the middle of a conflicted merge:
Code: | git checkout -f && git pull |
you need to change to another branch ?
example:
Code: | # git checkout master-devel |
if the branch doesn't exist in your directory ()
e.g. master-light, then enter
Code: | git branch master-light origin/master-light && git checkout master-light |
you want to check out a specific version?
Code: | git checkout v2.6.25-rc5-zen0 |
speeding up merge (download) of zen-sources (during first time)
1) checkout the linux-2.6 branch of linus (git.eu.kernel.org or git.kernel.org)
2) then merge both (e.g. it's in /usr/src/sources/linux-2.6)
3) Code: | git clone --reference /usr/src/sources/linux-2.6/ git://zen-sources.org/zen/kernel.git |
what branches are there?
currently (may 2008), there are 5 (?) branches ( heads ):
- master (git checkout master) (e.g. v2.6.24-zen3) [very stable]
- master-new (git checkout master-new) (e.g. v2.6.25-zen1, afaik this serves as test-branch or if master isn't updated for some time as secondary master)
- master-light (git checkout master-light) (e.g. 2.6.25-rc5-ki0) [even more stable than master]
- master-devel (git checkout master-devel) (e.g. 2.6.25-rc5-zen0) [here goes the development]
- master-devel-rt (git checkout master-devel-rt) (e.g. v2.6.24-zen-rt3) [~ stable, for those needing realtime-stuff]
the other "head"s are branches which are added to the main tree
the project's site can be reached over at:
www.zen-sources.org
the repo is reachable via:
http://zen-sources.org/cgi-bin/gitweb.cgi?p=kernel.git;a=summary
the SourceForge.net site at:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/zen-sources/ (thanks guys, for hosting )
edit (June 13th 2008) :
updated to newer zen-sources server + webpage-address _________________ https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa
Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004
Last edited by kernelOfTruth on Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:06 pm; edited 5 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dodo1122 Guru
Joined: 02 Sep 2006 Posts: 347 Location: York, England
|
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
2.6.24-zen4 tagged. Loads of cleanups, tuxonice updated, btrfs updated to 0.13 and some fixes.
enjoy ;P
dodo _________________ #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cobra78 n00b
Joined: 01 Nov 2007 Posts: 21 Location: Ravenna
|
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The zen4 kernel had iwlwifi 1.2.23 witch don't work well with my ipw3945, there is a way to have 1.2.25 in zen kernel, the driver downloaded from official iwlwifi site dosen't compile -.- _________________ Dell Inspiron 1720 Ice White Windows 7 Professional/Archlinux x86_64 - 2.6.35.x
Msi Wind U100 Windows Xp/Ubuntu Netbook Remix 10.04 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
EnigmaticSeraph n00b
Joined: 03 Feb 2008 Posts: 14 Location: Guess
|
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 9:03 pm Post subject: 2.6.24-zen4 failure |
|
|
2.6.24-zen4 fails for me with:
Code: |
make[3]: *** No rule to make target `/usr/src/zen-sources-stable/include/linux/if_addrlabel.h', needed by `/usr/src/zen-sources-stable/usr/include/linux/if_addrlabel.h'. Stop.
|
Greg KH accidentally pushed a patch intended for 2.6.25 (David's fault). This is the patch that needs to be reverted: http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/2/22/520
Simply take out the Code: | unifdef-y += if_addrlabel.h | line in include/linux/Kbuild
PS@kernelOfTruth: STILL haven't had the free time to go fix the config problem. :/ Hopefully will after this week. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
R-Type n00b
Joined: 22 Sep 2002 Posts: 62
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | CHK include/linux/version.h
CHK include/linux/utsrelease.h
CALL scripts/checksyscalls.sh
Building modules, stage 2.
MODPOST 226 modules
ERROR: "sqlzma_fin" [fs/squashfs/squashfs.ko] undefined!
ERROR: "sqlzma_un" [fs/squashfs/squashfs.ko] undefined!
ERROR: "sqlzma_init" [fs/squashfs/squashfs.ko] undefined!
make[1]: *** [__modpost] Error 1
make: *** [modules] Error 2 |
zen4 seems to break squashfs. zen3 builds fine. Any suggestions? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ilikenwf Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Oct 2007 Posts: 119
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
deno Guru
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 Posts: 411
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is it posible to include vesa-tng patch? It would help some of us with 945 gm to have gensplash and be able to resume after hibernate. atm screen becomes black and it remains so, only thing one can do is to shutdown by holding the button. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
deno wrote: | Is it posible to include vesa-tng patch? It would help some of us with 945 gm to have gensplash and be able to resume after hibernate. atm screen becomes black and it remains so, only thing one can do is to shutdown by holding the button. |
What's wrong with uvesafb? _________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
unK l33t
Joined: 06 Feb 2007 Posts: 769
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gimpel wrote: | What's wrong with uvesafb? |
That's another point, but it also doesn't work with gcc-4.3. _________________ ncmpcpp - featureful ncurses based MPD client inspired by ncmpc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
unK wrote: | gimpel wrote: | What's wrong with uvesafb? |
That's another point, but it also doesn't work with gcc-4.3. |
uvesafb is in mainline, so if it doesn't work, post to lkml o.O _________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
deno Guru
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 Posts: 411
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@gimpel? I have mentioned that in my previous post. people who use uvesafb and v86d with intel cards cannot resume after hibernation. Wth vesa-tng some of them (i.e me) could do it, some again had problems with vesa-tng also. But for me vesa-tng worked excellent. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jupiter1TX Guru
Joined: 24 Feb 2006 Posts: 546 Location: 3rd Rock
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
deno wrote: | Is it posible to include vesa-tng patch? It would help some of us with 945 gm to have gensplash and be able to resume after hibernate. atm screen becomes black and it remains so, only thing one can do is to shutdown by holding the button. |
Why not use uvesafb. I switched from vesa-tng with no problems as per Spocks
instructions.
http://dev.gentoo.org/~spock/projects/uvesafb/ _________________ Core i7 920 D0 | Asus P6T DLX | Patriot Viper 1600 6GB | Antec Quattro 850W
Geforce 8800GTX OC2 768MB | Dell 22" LCD | Koolance Exos2/Swiftech GTZ
GCC 4.6.1 | 3.7.x-geek | Xorg-7.4-x | KDE-4.7.x | Compiz |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IvanMajhen Guru
Joined: 10 Jun 2006 Posts: 392 Location: Croatia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have the same problem with uvesafb. After hibernation, screen is blank. In vesa-tng era i had little initramfs image with 915resolution in it and nice widescreen resolution. And it worked great. Now if i done the same with uvesafb (insmoding uvesafb in initramfs after 915resolution) it works... but hibernation (tuxonice) fails every time.
Don't know why vesafb-tng isn't maintained anymore... sad |
|
Back to top |
|
|
unK l33t
Joined: 06 Feb 2007 Posts: 769
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gimpel wrote: | uvesafb is in mainline, so if it doesn't work, post to lkml o.O |
Well, actually it is not that uvesafb doesn't work, it's v86d. see bug 212531. _________________ ncmpcpp - featureful ncurses based MPD client inspired by ncmpc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
deno Guru
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 Posts: 411
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jupiter1TX, that's fine with me if you use uvesafb. I was using it for a while but as I mentioned I cannot resume after suspending to ram or to disk.
@Ivan what chip do you have? I never needed i915 res for 1280x800 and did't have to use initrd. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
deno Guru
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 Posts: 411
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
True it is because of v86d but that doesn't change anything here. It is about getting gensplash and nice looking tty's. With vesa-tng we don't need v86d and that's the point. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IvanMajhen Guru
Joined: 10 Jun 2006 Posts: 392 Location: Croatia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
deno wrote: | Jupiter1TX, that's fine with me if you use uvesafb. I was using it for a while but as I mentioned I cannot resume after suspending to ram or to disk.
@Ivan what chip do you have? I never needed i915 res for 1280x800 and did't have to use initrd. |
Code: | 00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
|
This is because you have 1280x800 resolution in video bios. I don't.
Uvesafb is good for other arches, but it is just stupid to use it under 32bit x86.
I switched to intelfb, everything works, i have 100% working s3 and s4. But can't stand ugly 1024x768 console on 1280x800 screen.
Vesafb-tng was perfect for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Waninkoko Guru
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 549
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'll include it in master-devel and master-light. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ilikenwf Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Oct 2007 Posts: 119
|
Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Waninkoko wrote: |
I'll include it in master-devel and master-light. |
Thanks! The doom9 guys will jump for joy!
Out of curiosity, what is the difference between master-light and master-devel?
Oh..and the zen homepage is down. _________________ Make The Fonts Pretty In KDE
Archlinux User |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dodo1122 Guru
Joined: 02 Sep 2006 Posts: 347 Location: York, England
|
Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
master-light is the continuation of klight-sources. Basically less patches than master-devel;P
dodo _________________ #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Speaking of uvesafb...
Anyone else getting a kernel panic with current master? Something about swapper tainted vgacon and stuff. It was fine until -rc4-zen0.
I start to wish back vesafb-tng too, no -rt, no 1680x1050, and now it panics anyway, hmm... _________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jupiter1TX Guru
Joined: 24 Feb 2006 Posts: 546 Location: 3rd Rock
|
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
IvanMajhen wrote: |
Uvesafb is good for other arches, but it is just stupid to use it under 32bit x86.
|
Am just a little curious why you think this is stupid. I have been using this since
the change over with no problems. I use 32bit x86 on a 22" 1680x1050 lcd. Is
there a good reason why this is stupid or did you just make a stupid remark. _________________ Core i7 920 D0 | Asus P6T DLX | Patriot Viper 1600 6GB | Antec Quattro 850W
Geforce 8800GTX OC2 768MB | Dell 22" LCD | Koolance Exos2/Swiftech GTZ
GCC 4.6.1 | 3.7.x-geek | Xorg-7.4-x | KDE-4.7.x | Compiz |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IvanMajhen Guru
Joined: 10 Jun 2006 Posts: 392 Location: Croatia
|
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is stupid because:
i need to compile klibc for it
needs userspace daemon
needs initramfs if we early wanna see resolution
it simulates x86 calls to query video bios--> why should we need that if we have native calls on 32bit
it doesn't work with tuxonice for me ,and for some other users
it lacks any type of acceleration
The only good thing is that it supports non vesa modes, but vesafb-tng already did that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ufoman Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 02 Apr 2006 Posts: 80
|
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Any fix for that:
Code: | Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/portage/distfiles/git-src/zen-sources/
remote: Counting objects: 849556, done.
remote: fatal: packfile ./objects/pack/pack-de772f05b2998c8653e84e335eb4fde2dc68a15b.pack cannot be accessed
remote: aborting due to possible repository corruption on the remote side.
fatal: early EOF
fatal: index-pack failed
fetch-pack from 'git://repo.or.cz/linux-2.6/zen-sources.git' failed.
|
_________________ Registered Linux User #417638
amd64 no-multilib
desktop: Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 v2.0, Athlon II X2 250 @3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2 800, Radeon HD 4850, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 320GB |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|