View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Deep_Blue n00b

Joined: 25 Mar 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:40 pm Post subject: ndiswrapper problem |
|
|
hi
i am trying to make my wireless network card run (by ndiswrapper).
Code: |
# ndiswrapper -l
bcmwl5 : driver installed
device (14E4:4318) present
|
Code: |
# lsmod
Module Size Used by
acer_acpi 18488 0
ndiswrapper 184864 0
[...]
|
Code: | # /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
* Service net.wlan0 starting
network interface wlan0 does not exist
Please verify hardware or kernel module (driver) [ !! ]
* ERROR: net.wlan0 failed to start
|
i have no idea what to do.
regards
DeepB |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fbi78 n00b

Joined: 28 Jun 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 4:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What is your card?
Have you configured your kernel properly? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deep_Blue n00b

Joined: 25 Mar 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it is an Broadcom BCM4318
i use the windows druvers with ndiswrapper, so why kernel driver?
regards
DeepB |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pappy_mcfae Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why kernel? Because some kernel versions (2.6.23.x and 2.6.24.x) have problems with, or simply won't work with ndiswrapper, especially when using Broadcom wireless adapters. Also, there are settings in the kernel that have to be turned on (and off in some cases) that make ndiswrapper work.
The kernel is the absolute root of the system. If the root is bad, so is the rest of the plant.
So, what version of kernel are you running, and how did you set it up?
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deep_Blue n00b

Joined: 25 Mar 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
kernel 2.6.24-r3,
my .config:
http://pastebin.com/m3bd23b25
so i have to switch back to 2.6.22.*.
could you please let me know which options should bet turned on for ndiswrapper?
regards
DeepB |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pappy_mcfae Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
What I think will work better is if I send you my .config, since it's already set up for ndiswrapper functionality. All you need to do is change the drivers and other options. Compile it and you should get ndiswrapper functionality.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deep_Blue n00b

Joined: 25 Mar 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
i tried it now by myself just installing kernel 2.6.22 (by my .config, and not the one from pappy_mcfae), and ndiswrapper seems to work just fine, but when starting wlan0 it says
Code: | WARNING: net.wlan0 has started but is inactive |
dmesg shows this output:
Code: | ndiswrapper version 1.52 loaded (smp=yes, preempt=no)
ndiswrapper (link_pe_images:576): fixing KI_USER_SHARED_DATA address in the driver
ndiswrapper: driver bcmwl5 (Broadcom,02/11/2005, 3.100.64.0) loaded
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:06:05.0[A] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
ndiswrapper: using IRQ 21
wlan0: ethernet device 00:14:a4:4e:0c:70 using NDIS driver: bcmwl5, version: 0x364400a, NDIS version: 0x501, vendor: 'NDIS Network Adapter', 14E4:4318.5.conf
wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP; TKIP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK; AES/CCMP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK
ACPI: WMI-Acer: Mapper loaded
acer_acpi: Acer Laptop ACPI Extras version 0.10.0
acer_acpi: Detected Acer AMW0 interface
Registered led device: acer_acpi:mail
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
|
the last line seems to be relevant.
regards
DeepB |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pappy_mcfae Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It may be working properly. Once the wireless is done, try going to a website. I got the same error, but things worked when done.
I rename my wireless interface from wlan0 to eth0, which somehow stops that error from happening. I rename my interface because this machine has the wired and wireless network adapters internally, and I only need to use one at a time.
Getting wireless working remains a sticky wicket. However, it is doable. You might need to do some experimentation to get it to work right.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|