Reinstall Gentoo over old install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lost_amigo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reinstall Gentoo over old install Reply with quote

I am wondering about something. I have a aGentoo install that has a messed up grub. What I am wondering is, if I reinstall with the full install CD, will it give me the option to repartition and/or reformat the drive first?
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure how the automated installer would handle an existing Gentoo installation.

If you are only dealing with a messed up grub, fixing it manually should be pretty easy, don't you agree ?
lost_amigo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reinstalling Gentoo. Reply with quote

Well, to be honest, I am new at this and, I have tried to reinstall the grub but, with my limited knowledge of the install I coulds make things worse.
I have a MSI aboard with an AMD64 processor. Raid 5 with 3 160 gig drives set up as a server.
Here is what I tried...

I boot from the minimal Installation CD
then, I:

Swapon /dev/hda2
mount /dev/hda3 mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda1 mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
chroot /mnt/gentoo/ /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
grub
root (hd0) returns... Filesystem type unknown, Using whole disk
should I continue? don't know.
haven't done the next command yet....
setup (hd0,0)
quit
Thank you for the speedy reply
lost_amigo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:28 pm    Post subject: correction to previous post by me. Reply with quote

(hd0) was actually (hd,0)
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try doing the grub commands the other way around.
Code:
# grub
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit