[Solved] No messages displayed during boot process
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trashhalo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 6:45 pm    Post subject: [Solved] No messages displayed during boot process Reply with quote

I have been running gentoo for a 5 years now. So I know that this issue I am suffering is completely my fault. I am just looking for some suggestions on where to look. I was running on autopilot this morning changed some settings along with a kernel recompile and reboot. Every since the reboot not a single messages is displayed during the boot process (minus uncompressing and loading kernel.) Even after the boot process the same screen is displayed. So, no login prompt.

I know that the boot process finishes successfully
because I am able to login to the machine and execute commands (all blindly of course). I know that they execute because I can run things that play sound. Also I am able to ssh into the machine. Also I cannot change virtual terminals. I am stuck looking at that last message from the kernel.

First thought was something wrong was my inittab configuration or agetty was dieing at boot. I have now verified agetty is running and that my inittab is just about identical to the inittab.old from a gentoo minimal livecd. I have tried to go back to my old kernel configuration but with so many builds I have lost that magical working kernel config from 8am this morning.

Comparing dmesg logs from previous days and today reveals that dmesg used to log that the Console was vga+ enabled now it just states that the console is a colour dummy device (states that yesterday but then switches to vga+) then enables tty0 as console. I have also attempted to add console=tty0 and console=tty1 on the kernel line of my grub.conf. Neither of which changed anything.