View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
IRQsRFun Apprentice
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 195 Location: Somewhere between .3 and .7 Vdd
|
Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:12 am Post subject: Problem booting a VIA C7 motherboard [Solved] |
|
|
I am trying to boot my manually configured kernel on a fresh install. The mtherboard is a Via C7 motherboard JETWAY J7F2WE1G2EOLFLV RT.
My problem is that on bot I get a message indicating:
Quote: |
No such file directory while trying to open /dev/ROOT
/dev/ROOT
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct file system
etcetera ...........
|
I am able to enter my root password and do the following:
1) e2fsck /dev/sda3 - no errors found
2) read-only access to everything I can think of
I can access the drive (read only), so I do not think I have a driver selection issue.
After that Any help would be appreciated
Last edited by IRQsRFun on Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:31 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
praka123 Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 184 Location: Kerala,India
|
Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
well,you have to mount gentoo using a livecd,edit /etc/fstab,comment out(put a "#" infront) those lines which asks for LABEL= values.
then add a new line with
Code: | /dev/urgentoopartition(/) / ext3 noatime 0 1 |
then add swap:-
Code: | /dev/urswap none swap sw 0 0 |
if u make a /boot partition,add it too as:-
Code: | #/dev/urbootpartnno. /boot ext3 noauto,noatime 1 2 |
you should definitely read gentoo handbook
see the one for me:-
Code: | # NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
#/dev/BOOT /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
#/dev/ROOT / ext3 noatime 0 1
#/dev/SWAP none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,ro 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0
# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0
/dev/sdb6 / ext3 noauto,noatime 0 1
/dev/sdb11 none swap sw 0 0 |
that's it! _________________ Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IRQsRFun Apprentice
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 195 Location: Somewhere between .3 and .7 Vdd
|
Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
I should have been more clear in my initial post.
I have already built the kernel, created /etc/fstab, installed and configured grub. As far as I can tell the configuration of grub and the /etc/fstab is correct. I am still suspicious about the kernel.
On reboot to the manually configured kernel on /dev/sda1, I can not boot to /dev/ROOT found in /etc/fstab. This happens after a noticeable amount of hard drive activity. When this happens I am able to enter some kind of maintenance mode (after entering the root password) where
Code: |
e2fsck /dev/sda3 -f
|
does not report any errors
my /etc/fstab (the chrooted one with comments removed) is:
Code: |
/dev/BOOT /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/ROOT / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/SWAP none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom audo noauto,ro 0 0
shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0
|
Since e2fsck does not distinguish between ext2 and ext3, I have also tried
Code: |
/dev/BOOT /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/ROOT / ext2 noatime 0 1
/dev/SWAP none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom audo noauto,ro 0 0
shm
|
my partitions are as follows:
/dev/sda1 - ext2 (boot) - has grub, kernel, memtest 86
/dev/sda2 - swap
/dev/sda3 - ext3 (/) - has the system files and other stuff
Since this is a manual configuration of the kernel, I suspect that I may be missing some configuration option of the kernel.
If more information would be appropriate (like the contents of .config) please let me know. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrillic Watchman
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 7313 Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
What praka123 is trying to tell you is that /dev/ROOT /dev/BOOT and /dev/SWAP are just placeholders.
You need to edit /etc/fstab and replace these with valid device names, such as /dev/sda3 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
praka123 Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 184 Location: Kerala,India
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
IRQsRFun Apprentice
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 195 Location: Somewhere between .3 and .7 Vdd
|
Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you, both of you.
I can now boot. I am VERY emabarassed by this oversight. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|