View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
OnlyTux
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:41 am    Post subject: xfce theming glitch Reply with quote

Hello, guys.

This is the first time I try to theme my WM.
I have been using smoothly Xfce for 3 months, but I would like to change the default appearance of some of its components (icons and panels mostly).
The available themes with the standard setup are not better than the default one, in my opinion, so I read the Gentoo Xfce official and wiki documentation, and, after wondering a bit through the forum, I went to xfce-look and downloaded the SlicknesS gtk 2.0 theme.

After following the instructions written by the author, the theme was available in the "User Interface Settings" but not in the "Window Manager Settings". Ok, no problem, I select the SlicknesS inside the former and the panels and windows change... But not as exactly as the screenshots available at the aforesaid page: only the panels, menus and the scrollbars were conform to the linked pictures. The rest remained Default, and the default grey window's titlebar color turned too light for the white title to be readable.

After deleting the SlicknesS folder inside /usr/share/themes and restoring the default settings, I looked inside the themes' directories in my system and noticed all of the images were inside the xfwm4 sub-directories. So I created a xfwm4 sub-directory inside the SlicknesS folder in my /home, putting all of the images inside it, then copied it again into /usr/share/themes and selected it again. The situation did not change, so I turned to default style and removed the directories.