View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jimcanoa n00b
Joined: 26 Oct 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:23 pm Post subject: network despair |
|
|
Hello guys,
I'm in desperate need of your expertise to help me get my network card to work!!! I'm at the point where my kernel works good enough to boot, with no errors, loading the correct driver for my network card, etc. It launches net.eth0 script succesfully and no error is reported but -unlucky me- I cannot ping to the router or anywhere else in the network. I know that the hardware works, because I'm dualbooting with ubuntu, and ubuntu's network works beautifully.
Here are the relevant files and outputs I can think of... btw I'm using 2.6.24-gentoo-r4 i686
Code: |
# lspci | grep -i eth
00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
01:0a.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8001 Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 13)
# dmesg | grep -i eth
skge eth0: addr 00:01:29:f8:92:c0
skge eth0: enabling interface
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:29:F8:92:C0
inet addr:192.168.1.10 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:5
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:906 (906.0 b) TX bytes:906 (906.0 b)
# cat /etc/conf.d/net
config_eth0=( "192.168.1.10 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.1.1" )
# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
default 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
|
I don't want to post my entire .config (+1000 lines) which are the relevant lines to this particular problem?
In my opinion this could be caused by 2 things, either there's sth I should enable in my kernel which I haven't, or the skge drivers simply aren't working. The funky thing is that I used to have gentoo with this hardware and it worked perfectly.
Thanks everyone!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
notHerbert Advocate
Joined: 11 Mar 2008 Posts: 2228 Location: 45N 73W
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, but what about /etc/hosts and /etc/resolv.conf?
Did you configure them as the handbook indicated?
Check those out first. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jimcanoa n00b
Joined: 26 Oct 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
notHerbert wrote: | Ok, but what about /etc/hosts and /etc/resolv.conf?
Did you configure them as the handbook indicated?
Check those out first. |
Well, yes...
Code: |
# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost
|
/etc/resolv.conf is also correctly configured altho I'm not sureresolv.conf could cause this, since I'm not looking up any domain name. I just do ping 192.168.1.1 (my router/gateway) and it says network unreachable:
Code: |
# ping 192.168.1.1
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.1.10 icmp_seq=29 Destination Host Unreachable
...
|
It's the exact same output as not having a cable connected to the network card produces, but I'm positive it's not a hardware problem... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jimcanoa n00b
Joined: 26 Oct 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I've just installed kernel 2.6.23-r9 to check if maybe skge driver was working fine with that release, but the problem remains...
what could it be? should i post my .config? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
notHerbert Advocate
Joined: 11 Mar 2008 Posts: 2228 Location: 45N 73W
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost
|
I don't think that's how the handbook describes /etc/hosts.
Also check /etc/conf.d/hostname. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrillic Watchman
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 7313 Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 2:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Since you have 2 ethernet controllers, what happens if you plug the cable into the other port ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
krinn Watchman
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
sometimes...
are you sure your router is 192.168.1.1 ? tried dhcp or looking in ubuntu that its adress is also this one ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
apryan Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 31 Jan 2005 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 10:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
notHerbert wrote: | Code: |
# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost
|
I don't think that's how the handbook describes /etc/hosts.
Also check /etc/conf.d/hostname. |
not, you could just tell him.
bTw. baselayout changed HOSTNAME to hostname=. As far as /etc/hosts goes, i didnt check that either. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nixnut Bodhisattva
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo to Networking & Security.
networking stuff, so moved here. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
|
SeaTiger l33t
Joined: 22 Nov 2007 Posts: 603 Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
|
Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | # dmesg | grep -i eth
skge eth0: addr 00:01:29:f8:92:c0
skge eth0: enabling interface
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready | The last line, link is not ready, that is strange. Look like driver is not waking up the network card at all.
Try to do the same thing (dmesg, ifconfig, etc.) in ubuntu and see if there is any difference.
Another thing to check is which kernel version ubuntu is using. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|