Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Help with KDE and Xinerama behaviour
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joefish
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 316
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 7:42 am    Post subject: [solved] Help with KDE and Xinerama behaviour Reply with quote

I'm trying to achieve a dual monitor setup where I can have windows maximize to one of my two screens, and be able to move windows between screen if I wish. The KDE panel should sit on only one screen. If I'm correct, I understand that KDE should do this itself if it's built with the xinerama USE-flag, so I've done this.

The problem is that it does not. New windows open up in the middle of my two screens, and maximizing a window makes it take up both screens. What am I doing wrong? (I'm new to this!). Is there something else I need to do to get KDE to behave the way I want?

Here is my xorg.conf, as configured by nvidia-settings:

Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (root@snap)  Fri Mar 14 19:44:40 NZDT 2008

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 1024 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath         "/usr/lib64/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

ection "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "IBM G78"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 85.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 160.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Compaq CPQ TFT5015"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 61.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 7300 SE/7200 GS"
    BusID          "PCI:4:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 7300 SE/7200 GS"
    BusID          "PCI:4:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-1: 1024x768 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard1"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-0: 1024x768 +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


Last edited by joefish on Sat May 31, 2008 10:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah i remember that was really weird to configure. IIRC you have to build all KDE packages with the USE="xinerama" (put it into make.conf and do an emerge --newuse world anyways) and put something like this into your xorg.conf (works here):
Code:

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option    "Xinerama"    "off"
        Option    "TwinView"    "true"
        Option    "Clone"       "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
 Option    "TwinView" "on"
 Option    "MetaModes"  "1280x1024,1280x1024; 1280x1024"
Option        "UseDisplayDevice" "CRT,CRT" (i am not so sure about this one)
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Option         "MetaModes"  "1280x1024,1280x1024; 1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768; 1024x768; 800x600,800x600
   Option         "TwinViewOrientation"      "LeftOf" (RightOf if you want the panel on the right screen)
EndSection


Hope it works for you.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joefish
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 316
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your suggestion. I just solved it by doing 'emerge --newuse --deep world'. I had already done an 'emerge --newuse world', but that didn't catch every package that needed updating!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum