View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Gentooser n00b
Joined: 11 Mar 2009 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:05 pm Post subject: Changing brightness. |
|
|
Helllo,
I've got a problem with changing brighness of my screen.
I have special keys on my laptop: brightness down and brightness up.
When I press one of them, there is no effect untill I turn my screen off and on again... It's a bit annoying...
Any ideas how to fix it ?
I have geforce 9600 with driver 180.29.
Cheers. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ewaller Apprentice
Joined: 11 Aug 2005 Posts: 264 Location: Pasadena, CA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 12:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Backlight brightness on laptops can be a challenge.
It is usually controlled by one of the power management functions. Most modern systems use ACPI. Take a look in /proc/acpi and see if there are any files related to brightness. If there is, try something like, cat the contents of the file and see if it tells you the current brightness setting. To change it, try:
Code: | echo 1 > /proc/acpi/<the_interesting_filename> | and what happens.
Some laptops are easy, others (like my Toshiba Satellite) may require come custom kernel code _________________ Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gentooser n00b
Joined: 11 Mar 2009 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 1:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Couldn't find it in /proc/acpi, but have found it in:
/sys/devices/platform/acer-wmi/backlight/acer-wmi.
There are several files, e.g.
actual_brightness 9
brightness 9
max_brightness 9
bl_powers 0
these numbers are returend when sending command "cat xxx".
when I press the brithness up/down buttons, value of actual_brightness changes but I still need to turn off and on my screen to see an effect... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, you should enable Video inside the ACPI and the event option inside the device driver,section input. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|