View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:31 pm Post subject: Card Reader Help (SOLVED) |
|
|
I have a multi card reader on my laptop. Was hoping I could get some info on getting it up and running. When I insert an SD card into no lights and no mount.Here is my lspci output:
Code: |
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 11)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge
00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:14.6 Modem: ATI Technologies Inc SB400 AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
05:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
05:09.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx21/x515 Cardbus Controller
05:09.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
05:09.3 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx21 Integrated FlashMedia Controller
05:09.4 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCI6411/6421/6611/6621/7411/7421/7611/7621 Secure Digital Controller
|
I think this is the relevant part pertaining to the card reader:
Code: |
05:09.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx21/x515 Cardbus Controller
05:09.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
05:09.3 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx21 Integrated FlashMedia Controller
05:09.4 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCI6411/6421/6611/6621/7411/7421/7611/7621 Secure Digital Controller
|
Thanks in advance.
Last edited by sall on Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:43 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
What does dmesg show when you insert a card?
_________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Heres the output of dmesg|tail
Code: |
V2570nr craig # dmesg|tail
mmc1: SDHCI at 0xc0209000 irq 17 DMA
sdhci:slot2: Will use DMA mode even though HW doesn't fully claim to support it.
mmc2: SDHCI at 0xc0208400 irq 17 DMA
Marking TSC unstable due to possible TSC halt in C2
Time: acpi_pm clocksource has been installed.
EXT3 FS on hda3, internal journal
Adding 4120664k swap on /dev/hda2. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4120664k
NET: Registered protocol family 10
lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
The following is what I get when I insert an SD card into my laptop
Code: |
# dmesg|tail
...
mmcblk0: mmc0:e624 SD02G 1985024KiB (ro)
mmcblk0: p1
|
Have you configured your kernel to be able to use the card reader? _________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have tried using the guides... What exactly do you have marked in your kernel for the card? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The following are the settings I found in my kernel
Code: |
# zgrep -i mmc /proc/config.gz
# CONFIG_PCI_GOMMCONFIG is not set
CONFIG_PCI_MMCONFIG=y
# MMC/SD Card support
CONFIG_MMC=y
# CONFIG_MMC_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK=y
CONFIG_MMC_SDHCI=y
CONFIG_MMC_WBSD=y
CONFIG_MMC_TIFM_SD=y
|
Code: | # cd /usr/src/linux; make menuconfig |
Device Drivers --->
<*> MMC/SD card support --->
--- MMC/SD card support
[ ] MMC debugging
[ ] Allow unsafe resume (DANGEROUS)
--- MMC/SD Card Drivers
<*> MMC block device driver
--- MMC/SD Host Controller Drivers
<*> Secure Digital Host Controller Interface support (EXPERIMENTAL)
<*> Winbond W83L51xD SD/MMC Card Interface support
<*> TI Flash Media MMC/SD Interface support (EXPERIMENTAL)
hope this helps. _________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
my out put of zgrep -i mmc /proc/config.gz
Code: |
CONFIG_PCI_MMCONFIG=y
CONFIG_MMC=m
# CONFIG_MMC_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME is not set
# MMC/SD Card Drivers
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK=m
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK_BOUNCE=y
# MMC/SD Host Controller Drivers
CONFIG_MMC_SDHCI=m
# CONFIG_MMC_RICOH_MMC is not set
CONFIG_MMC_WBSD=m
# CONFIG_MMC_TIFM_SD is not set
|
I also have the same kernel configuration that you listed. Although, I see a difference in the first output of /proc/config.gz
Code: |
My CONFIG_MMC=m
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK=m
CONFIG_MMC_SDHCI=m
ONFIG_MMC_WBSD=m
# CONFIG_MMC_TIFM_SD is not set
|
How can edit these so they have the "y" as yours do, maybe this is my problem?[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you have set the kernel to use modules.
You need to check if the module is loaded. List the loaded modules with lsmod. Use modprobe to manualy load the module you need. _________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
so, I should set them as <M> in kernel and not <*>?
Code: |
V2570nr craig # lsmod
Module Size Used by
ipv6 268840 8
snd_pcm_oss 44320 0
snd_mixer_oss 21504 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_oss 36736 0
snd_seq_midi_event 12544 1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 58880 4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device 13076 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
mmc_block 18688 0
pcmcia 45848 0
firmware_class 14976 1 pcmcia
rtc 14376 0
sdhci 22788 0
pcspkr 7808 0
mmc_core 56200 2 mmc_block,sdhci
yenta_socket 31628 1
rsrc_nonstatic 16128 1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core 46500 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
ndiswrapper 196000 0
battery 20104 0
ac 11272 0
8250_pci 31232 0
thermal 22688 0
button 13984 0
processor 44904 1 thermal
snd_atiixp_modem 21516 1
snd_atiixp 25748 1
snd_ac97_codec 116952 2 snd_atiixp_modem,snd_atiixp
ac97_bus 6912 1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm 83336 4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_atiixp_modem,snd_atiixp,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer 28552 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd 66152 14 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_atiixp_modem,snd_atiixp,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc 15248 3 snd_atiixp_modem,snd_atiixp,snd_pcm
i2c_piix4 13708 0
i2c_core 29952 1 i2c_piix4
joydev 17664 0
tg3 115844 0
e1000 125760 0
nfs 248944 0
lockd 72880 1 nfs
sunrpc 199944 4 nfs,lockd
jfs 167504 0
dm_mirror 26880 0
dm_mod 64240 1 dm_mirror
scsi_wait_scan 5888 0
sbp2 28680 0
ohci1394 36788 0
ieee1394 101208 2 sbp2,ohci1394
sl811_hcd 17920 0
usbhid 47200 0
ff_memless 10376 1 usbhid
ohci_hcd 28164 0
uhci_hcd 29976 0
usb_storage 91200 0
ehci_hcd 37132 0
usbcore 152496 7 sl811_hcd,usbhid,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,ehci_hcd
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why don't you try recompiling your kernel with the kernel settings I gave you?
Device Drivers --->
<*> MMC/SD card support --->
--- MMC/SD card support
[ ] MMC debugging
[ ] Allow unsafe resume (DANGEROUS)
--- MMC/SD Card Drivers
<*> MMC block device driver
--- MMC/SD Host Controller Drivers
<*> Secure Digital Host Controller Interface support (EXPERIMENTAL)
<*> Winbond W83L51xD SD/MMC Card Interface support
<*> TI Flash Media MMC/SD Interface support (EXPERIMENTAL)
A '*' means is "static" and loaded with the kernel while as 'M' means it's a module that needs to be loaded for it to work. _________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, I reset them all to <*>. still no luck.
Code: |
v2570nr linux # zgrep -i mmc /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_PCI_MMCONFIG=y
CONFIG_MMC=m
# CONFIG_MMC_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME is not set
# MMC/SD Card Drivers
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK=m
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK_BOUNCE=y
# MMC/SD Host Controller Drivers
CONFIG_MMC_SDHCI=m
# CONFIG_MMC_RICOH_MMC is not set
CONFIG_MMC_WBSD=m
# CONFIG_MMC_TIFM_SD is not set
|
Code: |
mmc1: SDHCI at 0xc0209000 irq 17 DMA
sdhci:slot2: Will use DMA mode even though HW doesn't fully claim to support it.
mmc2: SDHCI at 0xc0208400 irq 17 DMA
Marking TSC unstable due to possible TSC halt in C2
Time: acpi_pm clocksource has been installed.
EXT3 FS on hda3, internal journal
Adding 4120664k swap on /dev/hda2. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4120664k
NET: Registered protocol family 10
lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
From what I can see you are still using modules '=m' and not static '=y'.
Did you recompile the kernel or did you just do the changes and save them?
A kernel needs to be recompiled and the system rebooted before the changes take effect.
so try this:
Code: | # cd /usr/local/src && make menuconfig && make clean && make && make modules_install install && echo "Reboot now..." |
This line will prompt you for the changes, then compile the kernel and tell you to reboot if all went well.
Keep me posted. _________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cd /usr/local/src && make menuconfig && make clean && make && make modules_install install && echo "Reboot now..."
I think you meant cd /usr/src/linux &&.............. correct me if wrong? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you're right _________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
alright, thanks! Running that in the terminal and waiting for the reboot. Will get back to you in a moment. Appreciate your promptness and willingness to help me out ecosta. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
okay after that. I reboot and:
Code: |
zgrep -i mmc /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_PCI_MMCONFIG=y
CONFIG_MMC=m
# CONFIG_MMC_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_MMC_UNSAFE_RESUME is not set
# MMC/SD Card Drivers
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK=m
CONFIG_MMC_BLOCK_BOUNCE=y
# MMC/SD Host Controller Drivers
CONFIG_MMC_SDHCI=m
# CONFIG_MMC_RICOH_MMC is not set
CONFIG_MMC_WBSD=m
# CONFIG_MMC_TIFM_SD is not set
|
Still the same result.
Here is more output before card insert:
Code: |
V2570nr craig # dmesg|tail
Socket status: 30000006
Yenta: Raising subordinate bus# of parent bus (#05) from #05 to #09
pcmcia: parent PCI bridge I/O window: 0xa000 - 0xafff
pcmcia: parent PCI bridge Memory window: 0xc0200000 - 0xc02fffff
EXT3 FS on hda3, internal journal
Adding 4120664k swap on /dev/hda2. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4120664k
usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 2
NET: Registered protocol family 10
lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
|
After Crad insert:
Code: |
V2570nr craig # dmesg|tail
Socket status: 30000006
Yenta: Raising subordinate bus# of parent bus (#05) from #05 to #09
pcmcia: parent PCI bridge I/O window: 0xa000 - 0xafff
pcmcia: parent PCI bridge Memory window: 0xc0200000 - 0xc02fffff
EXT3 FS on hda3, internal journal
Adding 4120664k swap on /dev/hda2. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4120664k
usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 2
NET: Registered protocol family 10
lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
|
I do not see a difference. Have compiled all suggested kernel configurations. Still no cigar. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kasumi_Ninja Veteran
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 Posts: 1825 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Getting card readers supported in Linux can be a real pain. Have you tried booting a live distro to see if your card is working? If you boot one of these (in order of preference) systemrescuecd, knoppix, pclinuxos or ubuntu and the distro doesn't see your internal card reader it probably won't work with Linux. If it does work you can copy the kernel settings from /proc and recompile your kernel with it. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmmm... yes it was supported fully in ubuntu install.... however I'm not sure about a livecd. Anywho, what are my options.. boot up if and if it works through livecd, look in the same places:
Code: |
# su
#cd /usr/src/linux
# make menuconfig
|
and look under the kernel options to find the correct ones? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kasumi_Ninja Veteran
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 Posts: 1825 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sall wrote: | hmmm... yes it was supported fully in ubuntu install.... however I'm not sure about a livecd. Anywho, what are my options.. boot up if and if it works through livecd, look in the same places:
Code: |
# su
#cd /usr/src/linux
# make menuconfig
|
and look under the kernel options to find the correct ones? |
I would use the systemrescuecd (which is Gentoo based):
http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page
1) Boot sysrecuecd &check the kernel version with uname -a)
2) Insert an (sd)card
3) See with fdisk -l if the card shows up
4) If supported copy the kernel config to you gentoo partition (mounted on /mnt/gentoo)
cp /proc/config.gz /mnt/gentoo/usr/src
5) Reboot into Gentoo and recompile the kernel with the config.gz you just copied (can be done with genkernel or manually). For best results kernel must have teh same version.
man genkernel
Code: | --kernel-config=<file>
This specifies a kernel configuration file to use for compila-
tion; by default genkernel uses the config from the previous
build of the same kernel version or a default kernel config if
there isn't a previous config. |
From 'Linux Kernel in a Nutshell'
Quote: | If the /proc/config.gz filename is present, copy this file to your kernel source direc-
tory and uncompress it:
$ cp /proc/config.gz ~/linux/
$ cd ~/linux
$ gzip -dv config.gz
config.gz: 74.9% -- replaced with config
Copy this configuration file into your kernel directory and rename it to .config.
Then use it as the basis of the kernel configuration to build the kernel as described
in Chapter 4. |
http://www.kroah.com/lkn/ Chapter 7 _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ecosta, do you have anymore suggestions on getting card reader to work w/o d/l sysrescue cd? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ecosta Guru
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 477 Location: Brussels,BE
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sorry for later answer, food and a movie can do that
I had no difficulties getting my card reader working but I think Aniruddha idea is a good one. Boot from a LiveCD and see if it works. If it does, try and get your hand on the kernel and just use that or even better the .config file in /usr/src/linux
I wish I'd documented what I'd done. Sorry.
-Ed _________________ Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Alright, I downloaded system rescue cd and ran it in all hopes it would recognize the card reader (crosses fingers). And yes! it recognized the card!
So,..
Code: |
fdisk -l
....
/dev/mmcblk0p1
|
I now know it is suported for sure. However, I followed your instructions.. and at this point:
Code: |
cp /proc/config.gz /mnt/gentoo/usr/src
I get an error that /mnt/gentoo/usr/src is not a directory. I didn't know if I should create it and then cp the /proc/config.gz? Also, the kernel where slightly different. Mine is:
|
2.6.24-gentoo-r8
Code: |
The rescue disc was:
|
2.6.25-r ##Ican't remember the last number.
Code: |
I know you said best results with same kernel version. WHat is your alls opinion on where I should go from here? Thank you. I think we may be making some headway! |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sry i messed up all those coding things |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kasumi_Ninja Veteran
Joined: 18 Feb 2006 Posts: 1825 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi sal,
My mistake, you should mount your gentoo partition first, then you can copy the kernel config.
1 Look for your gentoo partition's number with
mount it on /mnt/gentoo
Code: | mount /dev/XYZ /mn/gentoo |
where XYZ is you partition. Now you can copy the config
With the kernel there are two thins you can do:
1) Upgrade to the latest unstable kernel
2) Try your current kernel and hope it works _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sall Guru
Joined: 08 Jun 2008 Posts: 314 Location: WV, USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
so, I'm guessing theres a chance I can hose my system if I do this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|