View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:03 pm Post subject: Experimental Ethernet card [SOLVED] |
|
|
I am installing gentoo 2008 (2.6.24-r8 ) on sevral machine and it turn out that one of these machines has a different video card that I only found after the first reboot. I know I was uspposed to lscpi before to compile a kernel but I guess becuase all the other machine had a more "standard" card that was already selected in makemenu I got a little lazy...
So after I recived the error:
Code: |
* network interface eth0 does not exist
* Please verify hardware or kernel module (driver)
|
So here is the output of lspci grep | Ethernet
Code: |
Attansic Technology Corp. L1 Gigabit Ethernet Adaptor (rev b0)
|
It turn out that this card is in the present version of the kernel but as experimental. So after puting a nice little * beside it I saved the kernel then typed:
Code: |
#make && make modules_install
#reboot
|
After the reboot same error message occured. Any idea? Could it be related to te experimental version of this driver? _________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Last edited by Jambonant on Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eyoung100 Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1428
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrillic Watchman
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 7313 Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:30 pm Post subject: Re: Experimental Ethernet card |
|
|
Jambonant wrote: | So after puting a nice little * beside it I saved the kernel then typed:
Code: |
#make && make modules_install
#reboot
| |
It looks like you installed the new modules but did not install the kernel, so you simply rebooted the old kernel that doesn't have Attansic L1 support in it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
eyoung100 wrote: | Can you post your dmesg please?? |
http://pastebin.org/44799
cyrillic wrote: | Jambonant wrote: | So after puting a nice little * beside it I saved the kernel then typed:
Code: |
#make && make modules_install
#reboot
| |
It looks like you installed the new modules but did not install the kernel, so you simply rebooted the old kernel that doesn't have Attansic L1 support in it. |
You mean:
Code: |
# cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8
|
If so I just did it with no difference. _________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eyoung100 Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1428
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The dmesg you posted has no network driver listed. If you compiled it as a module, may I urge you to compile it into your kernel. If you want to stick with the module, check /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and make sure the module is listed. _________________ The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
eyoung100 wrote: | The dmesg you posted has no network driver listed. If you compiled it as a module, may I urge you to compile it into your kernel. If you want to stick with the module, check /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and make sure the module is listed. |
Maybe I miss understood something here but I was thinking that
Code: |
make && make modules_install
|
did recompile my kernel!
What should I do to recompile the kernel then? _________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrillic Watchman
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 7313 Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Check the time and date indicated by "uname -a" to see if the kernel you are running is in fact the one you just compiled, and not one you compiled before selecting the correct network driver.
eyoung100 is right, if your network driver is there, then it should show up in dmesg. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cyrillic wrote: | Check the time and date indicated by "uname -a" to see if the kernel you are running is in fact the one you just compiled, and not one you compiled before selecting the correct network driver.
eyoung100 is right, if your network driver is there, then it should show up in dmesg. |
Ok both of you seems to be right as the uname -a is indeed of this morning and not this afternoon. But where did I go wrong? How do I change to the current Kernel?
Code: |
cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8
|
is not enough? _________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eyoung100 Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1428
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try Code: |
mount /boot
make clean && make && make modules_install && cp /arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8
|
If /boot complains it's already mounted then you forgot to copy it over. If both of those run without error, you copied what you thought was your new kernel into a directory named /boot that isn't your boot partition, but a directory called /boot on your root partition. _________________ The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
eyoung100 wrote: | try Code: |
mount /boot
make clean && make && make modules_install && cp /arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8
|
If /boot complains it's already mounted then you forgot to copy it over. If both of those run without error, you copied what you thought was your new kernel into a directory named /boot that isn't your boot partition, but a directory called /boot on your root partition. |
Not sure what that mean here is what I got after your commands:
Code: |
make: *** No rule to make target 'clean'. Stop.
|
_________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eyoung100 Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1428
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
eyoung100 wrote: | make clean must be run from inside /usr/src/linux |
Sorry, you are correct. After I reload the kernel and got this error instead:
Code: |
Error: cannot start netmount as net.eth0 could not start
Starting local
|
Does that mena that my /etc/conf.d/net is wrong?
here is what I have:
Code: |
dns_domain_lo="foo.foo.ca
config_eth0=( " xxx.xxx.xxx.xx netmask 255.255.255.0 brb xxx.xxx.xxx.255")
routes_eth0=("xxx.xxx.xxx.1")
|
_________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrillic Watchman
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 7313 Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
What is the output of "ifconfig -a" after booting your new kernel ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cyrillic wrote: | What is the output of "ifconfig -a" after booting your new kernel ? |
same as before only lo and no eth0.
But this time I get nothing for dmesg | grep Ethernet but do get something for dmesg | grep eth0:
Code: |
atl1 0000:02:00.0: eth0 link is up 100Mbps full duplex
|
Thats an improvment... _________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eyoung100 Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2004 Posts: 1428
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jambonant wrote: | cyrillic wrote: | What is the output of "ifconfig -a" after booting your new kernel ? |
same as before only lo and no eth0.
But this time I get nothing for dmesg | grep Ethernet but do get something for dmesg | grep eth0:
Code: |
atl1 0000:02:00.0: eth0 link is up 100Mbps full duplex
|
Thats an improvment... |
Let's make sure the correct module loaded as dmesg reports it's running.
Look for the new module name of your ethernet...
then just to make sure no old ethernet drivers are bound to eth0 lets remove the rules file:
Code: |
rm /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
|
and lets see if the network is in the correct run level:
If indeed it is in the correct runlevel lets see if we can start it manually:
Code: |
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
|
If it does not start you'll see more of the true error after starting it manually. What is that error, if any _________________ The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Last edited by eyoung100 on Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:56 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
lsmod gives me:
Code: |
Module Size Used by
|
_________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jambonant Apprentice
Joined: 18 Mar 2006 Posts: 181 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok I want to thank cyrillic and eyoung100 for your help but lspci turn out empty. I probably did something wrong with my kernel down the road, so I think I should just start over again. I will install another internet card and see what this gives me.
Thanks again guys. _________________ Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|