Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Experimental Ethernet card [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:03 pm    Post subject: Experimental Ethernet card [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I am installing gentoo 2008 (2.6.24-r8 ) on sevral machine and it turn out that one of these machines has a different video card that I only found after the first reboot. I know I was uspposed to lscpi before to compile a kernel but I guess becuase all the other machine had a more "standard" card that was already selected in makemenu I got a little lazy...

So after I recived the error:
Code:

*     network interface eth0 does not exist
*     Please verify hardware or kernel module (driver)


So here is the output of lspci grep | Ethernet
Code:

Attansic Technology Corp. L1 Gigabit Ethernet Adaptor (rev b0)


It turn out that this card is in the present version of the kernel but as experimental. So after puting a nice little * beside it I saved the kernel then typed:
Code:

#make && make modules_install
#reboot


After the reboot same error message occured. Any idea? Could it be related to te experimental version of this driver?
_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram


Last edited by Jambonant on Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your dmesg please??
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Experimental Ethernet card Reply with quote

Jambonant wrote:
So after puting a nice little * beside it I saved the kernel then typed:
Code:

#make && make modules_install
#reboot

It looks like you installed the new modules but did not install the kernel, so you simply rebooted the old kernel that doesn't have Attansic L1 support in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
Can you post your dmesg please??


http://pastebin.org/44799


cyrillic wrote:
Jambonant wrote:
So after puting a nice little * beside it I saved the kernel then typed:
Code:

#make && make modules_install
#reboot

It looks like you installed the new modules but did not install the kernel, so you simply rebooted the old kernel that doesn't have Attansic L1 support in it.


You mean:
Code:

# cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8


If so I just did it with no difference.
_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The dmesg you posted has no network driver listed. If you compiled it as a module, may I urge you to compile it into your kernel. If you want to stick with the module, check /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and make sure the module is listed.
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
The dmesg you posted has no network driver listed. If you compiled it as a module, may I urge you to compile it into your kernel. If you want to stick with the module, check /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and make sure the module is listed.


Maybe I miss understood something here but I was thinking that
Code:

make && make modules_install

did recompile my kernel!

What should I do to recompile the kernel then?
_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the time and date indicated by "uname -a" to see if the kernel you are running is in fact the one you just compiled, and not one you compiled before selecting the correct network driver.

eyoung100 is right, if your network driver is there, then it should show up in dmesg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
Check the time and date indicated by "uname -a" to see if the kernel you are running is in fact the one you just compiled, and not one you compiled before selecting the correct network driver.

eyoung100 is right, if your network driver is there, then it should show up in dmesg.


Ok both of you seems to be right as the uname -a is indeed of this morning and not this afternoon. But where did I go wrong? How do I change to the current Kernel?
Code:

cp arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8

is not enough?
_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try
Code:

mount /boot
make clean && make && make modules_install && cp /arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8


If /boot complains it's already mounted then you forgot to copy it over. If both of those run without error, you copied what you thought was your new kernel into a directory named /boot that isn't your boot partition, but a directory called /boot on your root partition.
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
try
Code:

mount /boot
make clean && make && make modules_install && cp /arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.24-gentoo-r8


If /boot complains it's already mounted then you forgot to copy it over. If both of those run without error, you copied what you thought was your new kernel into a directory named /boot that isn't your boot partition, but a directory called /boot on your root partition.


Not sure what that mean here is what I got after your commands:
Code:

make: *** No rule to make target 'clean'. Stop.

_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

make clean must be run from inside /usr/src/linux
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
make clean must be run from inside /usr/src/linux


Sorry, you are correct. After I reload the kernel and got this error instead:

Code:

Error: cannot start netmount as net.eth0 could not start
Starting local


Does that mena that my /etc/conf.d/net is wrong?
here is what I have:
Code:

dns_domain_lo="foo.foo.ca
config_eth0=( " xxx.xxx.xxx.xx  netmask 255.255.255.0 brb xxx.xxx.xxx.255")
routes_eth0=("xxx.xxx.xxx.1")

_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of "ifconfig -a" after booting your new kernel ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
What is the output of "ifconfig -a" after booting your new kernel ?


same as before only lo and no eth0.

But this time I get nothing for dmesg | grep Ethernet but do get something for dmesg | grep eth0:

Code:

atl1 0000:02:00.0: eth0 link is up 100Mbps full duplex


Thats an improvment...
_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1428

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jambonant wrote:
cyrillic wrote:
What is the output of "ifconfig -a" after booting your new kernel ?


same as before only lo and no eth0.

But this time I get nothing for dmesg | grep Ethernet but do get something for dmesg | grep eth0:

Code:

atl1 0000:02:00.0: eth0 link is up 100Mbps full duplex


Thats an improvment...


Let's make sure the correct module loaded as dmesg reports it's running.
Code:
lsmod

Look for the new module name of your ethernet...
then just to make sure no old ethernet drivers are bound to eth0 lets remove the rules file:
Code:

rm /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

and lets see if the network is in the correct run level:
Code:

rc-update show


If indeed it is in the correct runlevel lets see if we can start it manually:
Code:

/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start


If it does not start you'll see more of the true error after starting it manually. What is that error, if any :?: :?:
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper


Last edited by eyoung100 on Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lsmod gives me:
Code:

Module     Size     Used by

_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jambonant
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I want to thank cyrillic and eyoung100 for your help but lspci turn out empty. I probably did something wrong with my kernel down the road, so I think I should just start over again. I will install another internet card and see what this gives me.

Thanks again guys.
_________________
Francois Castonguay,
Registered Linux User #412639
4 AMD Phenom 9550 Quand-Core, 4G ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum