Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Wireless borked for no apparent reason...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cgmd
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1585
Location: Louisiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Are you sure that your switch on your laptop is enable ?

It seems that you have disabled your wifi physically...


Brilliant! That's it!

I found a wifi kill switch on the under surface of the leading edge of my thinkpad... And it was off! :oops:

Now I have:
Code:

cgmd # ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:D3:3C:30:78 
          inet addr:169.254.236.163  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Base address:0x2000 Memory:ee000000-ee020000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:19:D2:85:9B:B2 
          inet addr:192.168.1.102  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2442 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2107 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:2192969 (2.0 Mb)  TX bytes:462553 (451.7 Kb)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-19-D2-85-9B-B2-38-8E-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


My wifi is up and running! :D

But what, now, is wmaster0???

Thank you, d2_racing! :D
_________________
"Primum non nocere" ---Galen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:19:D2:85:9B:B2 
          inet addr:192.168.1.102  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2442 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2107 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:2192969 (2.0 Mb)  TX bytes:462553 (451.7 Kb)



You have a working network :) 192.168.1.102 is pretty good :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wmaster0 is something that needs to be there when you want to have a working Iwl3945 driver.

Without wmaster0 you have a problem.

So, yes your network interface is wlan0, don't bother about wmaster0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

#!/bin/bash
if [ "$(/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 status | grep started)" ]; then
         echo "Stopping interface wlan0"
         /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 stop
         sleep 2
        echo "Unloading module Iwl3945"
        sleep 2
         rmmod iwl3945
         echo "Your Wifi is disable"
else
         echo "Loading Iwl3945 module"
         modprobe iwl3945
         sleep 2
         /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
         echo "Your wlan0 is running"
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmd
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1585
Location: Louisiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
Wmaster0 is something that needs to be there when you want to have a working Iwl3945 driver.

Without wmaster0 you have a problem.

So, yes your network interface is wlan0, don't bother about wmaster0.


You've been very patient and a great help! :)

Thanks, again, for helping me through this!
_________________
"Primum non nocere" ---Galen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem, I like to debug people with Wifi problem and specifically with the Iwl3945.

By the way, what encryption do you use ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that you are not using the wpa_supplicant feature. If you want to use it, then I can help you with that also :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmd
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1585
Location: Louisiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
No problem, I like to debug people with Wifi problem and specifically with the Iwl3945.

By the way, what encryption do you use ?


I am using wpa_supplicant, but I'm not sure I know what you mean by encryption feature.

Please tell me more...

[Edit] For my local wap access I'm using WPA Personal and TKIP. Is that what you're referring to?
_________________
"Primum non nocere" ---Galen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:


You have to actived the 2 stack.


No you don't. d2_racing, what I meant by "both" is that both of you should disable the old deprecated stack. Only mac80211 is used by iwlwifi. ieee80211 was used by the old driver. As you could see with a lsmod, the old stack's module is never loaded ;)

But anyway, having it and never loading it don't "harm", but I usually prefer to get rid of unneeded parts of my kernel :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cgmd wrote:
[Edit] For my local wap access I'm using WPA Personal and TKIP. Is that what you're referring to?


Yes I mean that :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cgmd
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Feb 2005
Posts: 1585
Location: Louisiana

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
cgmd wrote:
[Edit] For my local wap access I'm using WPA Personal and TKIP. Is that what you're referring to?


Yes I mean that :)


Thanks, again for all your assistance...

Expect to hear from me, again, with my next wifi problem... :wink:
_________________
"Primum non nocere" ---Galen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum