Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I get SVN to restart? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:10 am    Post subject: How do I get SVN to restart? [solved] Reply with quote

I thought /etc/init.d/svnserve start in the default run level was what the guide said.
Starts without errors but does not get SVN up.
Just running subversion on a LAN no fancy apache stuff.
Thanks
_________________
Donate to Gentoo


Last edited by turtles on Thu Jul 10, 2008 4:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:50 pm    Post subject: Re: How do I get SVN to restart? Reply with quote

turtles wrote:
I thought /etc/init.d/svnserve start in the default run level was what the guide said.
Starts without errors but does not get SVN up.
Just running subversion on a LAN no fancy apache stuff.
Thanks


um, have you tried:

Code:
/etc/init.d/svnserve restart


That would be the obvious way to restart a service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My default runlevel does that.
It showes me it is started:
Code:
/etc/
init.d/svnserve status
 * status:  started

Is there another service I have to start?
Other than:
Code:
rc-update show default
             apache2 | default
               clamd | default
               cupsd | default
             distccd | default
                 gpm | default
               local | default
            net.eth0 | default
            netmount | default
             postfix | default
          postgresql | default
                sshd | default
            svnserve | default
           syslog-ng | default

Yet the SVN users on the LAN cannot access SVN?
I cant remember what I did to get it running when I installed it.
The Server rebooted and now they can't commit stuff.

I dont want to spend my time with all that apache stuff since everything is behind a firewall on the LAN.
Is there a guide for SVN that does not contain a whole bunch of unrelated how-to's?
Does SVN not work as its own service?
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't actually need a subversion service to be running to connect to subversion as you can also connect via the ssh protocol

Most clients support this method by default.....

What commands are you using on your svn client to connect with?

Just checking my system and I can't find an installed "/etc/init.d/svnserve"

oh, hang on... just re-installing it with the relevant USE flags :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does this command show up:

Code:
# netstat -nat | grep LISTEN | grep "3690"


it should show you an entry for the daemon running.

if not, try the following:

Code:
# /etc/init.d/svnserve stop
# /etc/init.d/svnserve zap
# /etc/init.d/svnserve start


and then try the netstat command again.

if that shows nothing see what's in your syslog files.

I'm currently re-installing subversion so will see if it works "out the box" for me or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
netstat -nat | grep LISTEN | grep "3690"
tcp        0      0 :::3690                 :::*                    LISTEN

OK did the start zap stop restart.

I am not the subversion user nor do I have any experience using subversion. So I read this created my very own repository on the server.
(this will eliminate the possibility of destroying the pissedoff dev's directory and will create a directory I can find)
Changed the owner from root to me, then checked it out OK back into my home directory as me the user.
Now from my laptop I try to checkout the same repository I just checked out:
Code:

svn checkout svn://turtle//home/svn/repository
svn: No repository found in 'svn://turtle/home/svn/repository'
turtle@lapcat ~ $ svn checkout svn://turtle//home/svn/repository/turtle
svn: No repository found in 'svn://turtle/home/svn/repository/turtle'
turtle@lapcat ~ $ svn checkout svn://turtle/home/svn/repository/turtle
svn: No repository found in 'svn://turtle/home/svn/repository/turtle'
turtle@lapcat ~ $ svn checkout svn://turtle/home/svn/repository/turtle
svn: No repository found in 'svn://turtle/home/svn/repository/turtle'

I use ssh to log into the server to do anything since it is headless, there is no firewall between me and the server (we are on the same subnet) so I assume it is not a network issue.

OOHH!
If I run
Code:
svn checkout svn+ssh://turtle/home/svn/repository/turtle
it works.

I'll let the dev know he either corrupted his repository or needs to RTFM thanks!
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

isn't the path of the repository relevant to what's set in /etc/conf.d/svnserv

Code:
SVNSERVE_OPTS="--root=/var/svn"


I guess you'd need to change the above to

Code:
SVNSERVE_OPTS="--root=/home/svn"


and then use this:

Code:
# svn checkout svn://turtle/repository


This sort of thing works for me :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
turtles
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 1698

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AAH that must be it.
When we installed it the first time we must have passed that option on the CMD line.
The SVN CLI works with the absolute path names but not the GUI programs?
Thanks richard.scott.
_________________
Donate to Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

glad to have helped 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum