View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sundialsvc4 Guru
Joined: 10 Nov 2005 Posts: 436
|
Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:59 pm Post subject: wpa_supplicant and WEP and DHCP ... |
|
|
Now, I've heard that "wpa_supplicant" and WEP just don't get along too good, and this does appear to be true.
What I see is that, say, "dhclient" never gets an offer.
Exploring further, I find also (via "iwconfig") that the WEP-key is indeed being sent correctly, but pinging anything anywhere does not go far. I pound my head against nearby rafters for a long while...
I issue the command "wpa_cli reconfigure" and... ... suddenly it seems to be working.
Next time I start up at this location, though, I know I'm going to be banging my head again, just like last time.
Yet 'WPA' works fine.
What is wpa_supplicant doing differently with regards to WEP, such that WPA works fine and WEP consistently barfs? I've seen this behavior reported before, but has anyone really explained it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, can you post theses files plz :
Code: |
# cat /etc/conf.d/net
# cat /etc/wpa/wpa_supplicant
|
Everything works with wpa_supplicant, wep key,wpa key and wpa2 key. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
For exemple, a wep key config is this :
Code: |
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
ap_scan=0
#update_config=1
network={
ssid="yourSSID"
scan_ssid=1
priority=5
key_mgmt=NONE
wep_key0=0123456789
wep_tx_keyidx=0
}
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
sundialsvc4 Guru
Joined: 10 Nov 2005 Posts: 436
|
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is what's strange ...
The wpa_supplicant.conf entry is (of course) very much like the example you quote. And the wireless card does associate with the router. What then does not work is that DHCP never gets an answer to its broadcasts. The WEP-key is known to be correct, and of the correct type. (It sometimes did work!)
I was puzzled to find that, when I entered these commands, I usually could not ping ... but sometimes did: Code: | ip route flush
ifconfig ath0 192.168.1.107 (say...)
route add -net 192.168.1.0/24 ath0
route add default gw 192.168.1.1
ping 192.168.1.1 (no answer... or "no route to host" after a few seconds) |
Sometimes it worked, and sometimes it produced very strange results. But those commands (which were an attempt to make-up for the absence of DHCP, but also probably an indicator of why DHCP also got no-answer) to my way of thinking should have worked.
Now, I've seen other reports in various places, over the years, of "no DHCPOFFERs received" in this sort of situation, and in one case the responder simply circumvented the DHCP-issue by issuing manual commands such as the above. At one time, but not consistently, they actually worked just fine for me. So, I don't really know what the missing-piece is.
WPA works just fine. "Open" routers also work just fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mamac l33t
Joined: 29 Feb 2004 Posts: 890
|
Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 2:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
Which driver are you using? _________________ Powered by Gentoo Linux since 2003 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In fact, can you post your lspci. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sundialsvc4 Guru
Joined: 10 Nov 2005 Posts: 436
|
Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
It's "madwifi," and since connection has worked and it has associated with the AP, it's the "routing strangeness" that puzzles me the most. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mamac l33t
Joined: 29 Feb 2004 Posts: 890
|
Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 6:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, though you had ndiswrapper, as it's not so stable with wpa_supplicant at the moment.
As d2_racing asked, can you post the output of 'cat /etc/conf.d/net' ?
Thanks _________________ Powered by Gentoo Linux since 2003 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|