Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Need to run disable_hw_scan=1 to use wlan0 [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1726

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:48 am    Post subject: Need to run disable_hw_scan=1 to use wlan0 [solved] Reply with quote

The computer is a Toshiba Satellite A305 laptop with a Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection wireless device (that's the lspci output) I followed some wiki's and forums and was able to configure the kernel appropriately, but it still was not working. I was, however, able to find a hack to get it to work. I found that if I run my wlan0 init script and then run the following code, it can connect to my router and, subsequently, the internet:

Code:
modprobe -r iwl3945
modprobe iwl3945 disable_hw_scan=1


Apparently, by disabling hardware scanning, it'll work just fine, but a) I don't know if there's a way to specify this every time the module loads (right now I have it in a small script I run whenever I start the computer) or better yet if b) there is a way to disable this in the kernel (or as the module is built).


Last edited by alienjon on Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's built into your kernel statically, you can add it as a boot-time parameter such as 'iwl3945.disable_hw_scan=1'. (This would be appended to your "kernel /bzImage-version" line in your Grub config file.)
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1726

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

naw, it's a module (unless I'm misinterpreting what you mean by 'static')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alienjon wrote:
naw, it's a module (unless I'm misinterpreting what you mean by 'static')
OOOH. I think I see what you're saying.

If you want to add this as a permanent option for the module, you can use the /etc/modprobe.conf file.
Code:
# /etc/modprobe.conf
options  iwl3945  disable_hw_scan=1
Its syntax for the options is very similar to that of modprobe directly, and is explained in the modprobe.conf(5) man page if you're further interested:
Code:
$ man modprobe.conf


This will cause these options to be used every time the module is loaded, without having to explicitly run "modprobe iwl3945 disable_hw_scan=1 other_option=foo" etc. :)
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm - I don't trust that solution completely since I read this on the top of /etc/modprobe.conf
Code:
### This file is automatically generated by update-modules
#
# Please do not edit this file directly. If you want to change or add
# anything please take a look at the files in /etc/modprobe.d and read
# the manpage for update-modules(8).

I'd suggest creating a file iwl3945 in /etc/modprobe.d/ with the line codergeek42 suggested ...

Sorry codergeek42 ;-)

Greetz
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

swimmer wrote:
[...] creating a file iwl3945 in /etc/modprobe.d/ with the line codergeek42 suggested ...

Sorry codergeek42 ;-)
Heh; That's my "not used Gentoo in 2+ years" solution, so I appreciate your correction. Thanks. :)
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1726

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just added that line to /etc/modules.d/iwl3945 and upon rebooting I had the exact same problem (and again, reloading the module fixes it). Interestingly, though, is that I now see that line in the /etc/modules.conf file. I'm guessing that the modules.conf file loads the options from the modules.d sub-files. But now, I'm wondering, if the problem lays in that the module needs to be reloaded anyway for it to work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*** /me crashes his head against the table ***

I should have told you that you have to run
Code:
update-modules
after that :-/

Sorry about that :(
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1726

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks :-)

I actually just finished rebooting after working on another problem and noticed that it's working fine now (actually, it was a second reboot, so I'm not sure why it didn't work the first time, but oh well, it's good now) Thanks for the help :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1330
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear that it works now :-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum