View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Evileye l33t
Joined: 06 Aug 2003 Posts: 782 Location: Toronto
|
Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 3:51 am Post subject: Bridging subnets (SOLVED) |
|
|
Greetings,
I have a Gentoo server with 2 subnets. 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.1.1
I am following this guide to bridging
192.168.0.1 is wired (eth1)
192.168.1.1 is wireless (ath0)
I would like to bridge the two subnets. I have enabled bridging in the kernel. Here are some of my files, let me know if you need to know anything else.
/etc/conf.d/net
Quote: | config_eth0=( "66.11.182.5 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 66.11.182.255" )
bridge_br0=( "eth1" "ath0" )
config_eth1=( "null" )
config_ath0=( "null" )
config_br0=( "192.168.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255" )
routes_br0=( "default via 192.168.0.1" )
depend_br0() {
need net.eth1 net.ath0
}
mode_ath0="Master"
essid_ath0="CarsonNet"
channel_ath0="1"
|
/etc/conf.d/dhcp
Quote: | DHCPD_IFACE="eth1 ath0" |
/etc/dhcp/dhcpd.conf
Quote: | ddns-update-style none;
authoritative;
subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.0.75 192.168.0.100;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.0.1;
option domain-name "penguin.jasoncarson.ca";
option routers 192.168.0.1;
option broadcast-address 192.168.0.255;
default-lease-time 10000;
max-lease-time 20000;
}
subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.1.75 192.168.1.100;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.1.1;
option domain-name "penguin.jasoncarson.ca";
option routers 192.168.1.1;
option broadcast-address 192.168.1.255;
default-lease-time 10000;
max-lease-time 20000;
}
|
With this setup the wired portion of the setup works (I can connect to the internet) but the wireless doesn't work.
In the "Wireless Network Connection" window, in WinXP, it shows my wireless network, I just can't connect to it for some reason.
Anyone know what I am doing wrong?
Last edited by Evileye on Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:58 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
doro1211 Guru
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 312
|
Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have a feeling this is an issue with the wireless card. Are you using a wireless card or an access point? Some cards cannot work as access points, and some need to be set in access point mode. I wonder if you were to switch in a wired card for the wireless if everything would work... I am guessing it would.
I actually use a wired card connected to an access point for my blue subnet (because I could not make the wireless card do the job on its own, I had to use the access point), and a wired card connected to a switch for my green. There is another wired which connects to the DSL modem for the red zone.
Is this a dedicated firewall / router, or does it serve other purposes? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Evileye l33t
Joined: 06 Aug 2003 Posts: 782 Location: Toronto
|
Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
doro1211 wrote: | I have a feeling this is an issue with the wireless card. Are you using a wireless card or an access point? Some cards cannot work as access points, and some need to be set in access point mode. I wonder if you were to switch in a wired card for the wireless if everything would work... I am guessing it would. |
The wireless card works as an access point and when I don't use bridging everything works fine.
Quote: | Is this a dedicated firewall / router, or does it serve other purposes? |
My Gentoo server does all kinds of stuff (Squid, Samba, Apache, etc). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Evileye l33t
Joined: 06 Aug 2003 Posts: 782 Location: Toronto
|
Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
I figured it out, here is what the files should contain...
/etc/conf.d/net
Quote: | config_eth0=( "66.11.182.5 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 66.11.182.255" )
bridge_br0=( "eth1" "ath0" )
config_eth1=( "null" )
config_ath0=( "null" )
config_br0=( "192.168.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255" )
routes_br0=( "default via 192.168.0.1" )
mode_ath0="Master"
essid_ath0="MyNetwork" |
/etc/conf.d/dhcp
/etc/dhcp/dhcpd.conf
Quote: | ddns-update-style none;
authoritative;
subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.0.75 192.168.0.100;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.0.1;
option domain-name "hostname.domain.tld";
option routers 192.168.0.1;
option broadcast-address 192.168.0.255;
default-lease-time 10000;
max-lease-time 20000;
} |
Here is how I setup a wireless access point.
Here is a Gentoo Wiki entry on how I did this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|