Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde can't come up. hangs after clock[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's an nvidia motherboard Here's a snippet of lspci

Code:

00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 07f0 (rev a2)
00:0f.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP73 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:10.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 7050/nForce 610i (rev a2)
01:07.0 Mass storage controller: ALi Corporation ALi M5281 Serial ATA / RAID Host Controller (rev a4)
01:07.1 Mass storage controller: ALi Corporation M5228 ALi ATA/RAID Controller (rev c6)


It's on-board, but gentoo and others seem to have trouble recognising it.
On Suse, it captured it all right. The driver required is nvidiafb, an unusual one that doesn't come in the nvidia package of drivers.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Opens it in nano? Whoa...now that's gone from strange to completely mind blowing.

Code:

# /etc/conf.d/clock

# Set CLOCK to "UTC" if your system clock is set to UTC (also known as
# Greenwich Mean Time).  If your clock is set to the local time, then
# set CLOCK to "local".  Note that if you dual boot with Windows, then
# you should set it to "local".

CLOCK="local"

# Select the proper timezone.  For valid values, peek inside of the
# /usr/share/zoneinfo/ directory.  For example, some common values are
# "America/New_York" or "EST5EDT" or "Europe/Berlin".

TIMEZONE="Australia/Perth"

# If you wish to pass any other arguments to hwclock during bootup,
# you may do so here.

CLOCK_OPTS=""

# If you want to set the Hardware Clock to the current System Time
# during shutdown, then say "yes" here.

CLOCK_SYSTOHC="no"


### ALPHA SPECIFIC OPTIONS ###

# If your alpha uses the SRM console, set this to "yes".
SRM="no"

# If your alpha uses the ARC console, set this to "yes".
ARC="no"


Use the one above. It's the same as mine except for the TIMEZONE setting. Cut, paste, and save it, and see if it helps.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This driver from nvidia is supposedly the right one. Of course, it's not set up as an ebuild, so you'd need to know how to compile outside of portage. I'm sure the directions are failry clear. It's worth a shot, anyway.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I just observer the opening line of the file is nano -w /etc/conf,d/clock. That explains why it was opening up. I suppose I must have copied it there by accident at some stage. It's blanked out now. I'd better re-boot and see if it boots to login. It's got a chance since it won't open up, shouldn't open up.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hehehe that's too funny. I'm not laughing at you. I'm laughing because I've accidentally typed things in files, and screwed them up...like the /etc/fstab on my old Toshiba laptop. That took forever to fix because the DVD drive kept dying.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok well I probably caused that whole hanging thing accidentally with that line opening it up in nano. I kept seeing it but it didn't register until I went to paste over it. We're up to the kde again.
Where and how do I get that driver though. It's not supplied in portage. I can compile packages, but what package?
kde pulls up saying there's no devices found AND no screens! It also seg faults in kdepim.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Click on this link. It takes you directly to the nvidia page with said driver. And yes, it is possible that nano freaking out could have been the cause of the clock problem.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok got that. It's about 18 mb. I've hit my download limit about a week ago so it's going to be slow. While we're waiting, How many of the problems will this driver fix? It's got to cure no screens found, no devices found, and kdepim seg faulting!!
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may solve many. It may solve none. This is a grey area. I don't use nvidia cards, so I don't know their ins and outs, and whether or not using one as a VESA frame buffer device would cause a segfault. It is my assumption that setting up the proper driver might clear up some issues, and possibly segfaults.

What I strongly suggest at this point is that you emerge --sync && emerge -aev system && emerge -aev world so that everything on your system is current, and your toolchain is as correct as it can be.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy, let's try this again. The driver package I downloaded and tried to install was the driver nvidia.
The driver needed is nvidiafb. It's different. The nvidia driver comes with the nvidia kernel package which is in.
Not only that but it failed to be loaded after compiling due to some other problem.

Back to the drawing board.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to your lspci snippet, the driver in question is the correct one. If you google it, you wind up being pointed to the driver in question. When this happens, I tend to think that someone paved the way from your lspci to the driver I found.

You can make a backup of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file (I usually call mine xorg.conf.works), and give the driver a shot. If it works, you move ahead. If it doesn't, you stay where you're at, at least somewhat functional.

I really think you should take the time to do a full system rebuild: emerge --sync && emerge -aev system && emerge -aev world. That might take care of your segfaults.

Whatever choices you make, at least you are now at a place where you have enough functionality to have a usable system for the most part. That's the cool thing.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idella4
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1600
Location: Australia, Perth

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep ok thanks. well I don't know now, only that I've had enough stalling and a console is not very gratifying since I want to try and build and use xen. Catch you again mb.
_________________
idella4@aus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll be around. But you'll have to grab someone else for the xen stuff.

It was fun troubleshooting with you.

G'day!

Blessed be!
Pappy

EDIT: Please add [solved] to the title. Thanks.
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum