Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] QT apps in Gnome
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:12 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] QT apps in Gnome Reply with quote

Hi,
I found this application called Keepass, to help organise your passwords. It runs on s60 (my mobile phone), windows (at work), and Linux (at home).
And it can share the same encrypted database for all my passwords, pin codes etc.

Trouble is the Linux application is based on QT and I am running Gnome. At the moment I have -qt in my use flags and yesterday QT-4.3.3 didn't even emerge when I tried "emerge -DN keepassx".

Is it a good idea to run QT apps in Gnome? Can it be done without having to install the whole of KDE? Someone elsewhere mentioned a -kde flag instead of -qt.

Will installing the necessary QT libraries lead to other problems on my system?

An alternative is to forget about the QT version and run the windows version in Wine instead. Is that better than messing up my system with QT libraries?

So many questions.....

Mons :?:


Last edited by monsm on Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fangorn
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 1886

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is it a good idea to run QT apps in Gnome? Can it be done without having to install the whole of KDE? Someone elsewhere mentioned a -kde flag instead of -qt.

You can run whatever you want. KDE apps are another category than QT apps (KDE apps integrate into the look and feel of KDE and are themable, to make it simple). The -qt and -kde flags are used for applications that are _optionally_ aware of an existing kde /qt installation. So if you set -qt or -kde this few applications will not use qt or kde even if installed and will not pull in kde /qt as dependency.

Quote:
Will installing the necessary QT libraries lead to other problems on my system?

If you have compiled with -qt none of the applications installed will even notice qt is available now

QT is just a library. If you have a program that is depending on it, either install it or drop the program. It's your decision. But if you are not on a minimal system for embedded or livecd purposes I see no point in not installing QT because of "mess".

Edit:
And running Windows apps in linux with wine ist not "messing with the system"? Wine is a runtime environment that is way bigger than QT.
_________________
Video Encoding scripts collection | Project page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3224

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I personally mix GTK and QT apps on my system... the best app for the job. If you are concerned about consistency in look and feel, there is a QT theme called GtkQt that matches your GTK theme to your QT theme. I don't believe there is a reverse (GTK->QT) theme.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so I am trying again here. But I get this:

Code:
g++ -c -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -fvisibility=hidden -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_BUILD_GUI_LIB -DQT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII -DQT_ASCII_CAST_WARNINGS -DQT_44_API_QSQLQUERY_FINISH -DQT3_SUPPORT -DQT_MOC_COMPAT -DQT_NO_IMAGEFORMAT_PNG -DQT_RASTER_IMAGEENGINE -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_NO_STYLE_MAC -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSVISTA -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSXP -DQ_INTERNAL_QAPP_SRC -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_CORE_LIB -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -I../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include -I../../include/QtGui -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I../3rdparty/harfbuzz/src -Idialogs -I.moc/release-shared -I/usr/include -I.uic/release-shared -o .obj/release-shared/qaction.o kernel/qaction.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -fvisibility=hidden -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_BUILD_GUI_LIB -DQT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII -DQT_ASCII_CAST_WARNINGS -DQT_44_API_QSQLQUERY_FINISH -DQT3_SUPPORT -DQT_MOC_COMPAT -DQT_NO_IMAGEFORMAT_PNG -DQT_RASTER_IMAGEENGINE -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_NO_STYLE_MAC -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSVISTA -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSXP -DQ_INTERNAL_QAPP_SRC -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_CORE_LIB -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -I../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include -I../../include/QtGui -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I../3rdparty/harfbuzz/src -Idialogs -I.moc/release-shared -I/usr/include -I.uic/release-shared -o .obj/release-shared/qactiongroup.o kernel/qactiongroup.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -fvisibility=hidden -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_BUILD_GUI_LIB -DQT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII -DQT_ASCII_CAST_WARNINGS -DQT_44_API_QSQLQUERY_FINISH -DQT3_SUPPORT -DQT_MOC_COMPAT -DQT_NO_IMAGEFORMAT_PNG -DQT_RASTER_IMAGEENGINE -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_NO_STYLE_MAC -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSVISTA -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSXP -DQ_INTERNAL_QAPP_SRC -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_CORE_LIB -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -I../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include -I../../include/QtGui -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I../3rdparty/harfbuzz/src -Idialogs -I.moc/release-shared -I/usr/include -I.uic/release-shared -o .obj/release-shared/qapplication.o kernel/qapplication.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -fvisibility=hidden -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_BUILD_GUI_LIB -DQT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII -DQT_ASCII_CAST_WARNINGS -DQT_44_API_QSQLQUERY_FINISH -DQT3_SUPPORT -DQT_MOC_COMPAT -DQT_NO_IMAGEFORMAT_PNG -DQT_RASTER_IMAGEENGINE -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_NO_STYLE_MAC -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSVISTA -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSXP -DQ_INTERNAL_QAPP_SRC -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_CORE_LIB -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -I../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include -I../../include/QtGui -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I../3rdparty/harfbuzz/src -Idialogs -I.moc/release-shared -I/usr/include -I.uic/release-shared -o .obj/release-shared/qtooltip.o kernel/qtooltip.cpp
kernel/qapplication.cpp: In static member function 'static void QApplicationPrivate::dispatchEnterLeave(QWidget*, QWidget*)':
kernel/qapplication.cpp:2272: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <URL:http://bugs.gentoo.org/> for instructions.
g++ -c -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -fvisibility=hidden -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_BUILD_GUI_LIB -DQT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII -DQT_ASCII_CAST_WARNINGS -DQT_44_API_QSQLQUERY_FINISH -DQT3_SUPPORT -DQT_MOC_COMPAT -DQT_NO_IMAGEFORMAT_PNG -DQT_RASTER_IMAGEENGINE -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_NO_STYLE_MAC -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSVISTA -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSXP -DQ_INTERNAL_QAPP_SRC -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_CORE_LIB -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -I../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include -I../../include/QtGui -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I../3rdparty/harfbuzz/src -Idialogs -I.moc/release-shared -I/usr/include -I.uic/release-shared -o .obj/release-shared/qwhatsthis.o kernel/qwhatsthis.cpp
g++ -c -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -fno-strict-aliasing -fvisibility=hidden -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_BUILD_GUI_LIB -DQT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII -DQT_ASCII_CAST_WARNINGS -DQT_44_API_QSQLQUERY_FINISH -DQT3_SUPPORT -DQT_MOC_COMPAT -DQT_NO_IMAGEFORMAT_PNG -DQT_RASTER_IMAGEENGINE -DQT_HAVE_MMX -DQT_HAVE_3DNOW -DQT_HAVE_SSE -DQT_HAVE_MMXEXT -DQT_HAVE_SSE2 -DQT_NO_STYLE_MAC -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSVISTA -DQT_NO_STYLE_WINDOWSXP -DQ_INTERNAL_QAPP_SRC -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_CORE_LIB -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -I../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include/QtCore -I../../include -I../../include/QtGui -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I../3rdparty/harfbuzz/src -Idialogs -I.moc/release-shared -I/usr/include -I.uic/release-shared -o .obj/release-shared/qwidget.o kernel/qwidget.cpp
The bug is not reproducible, so it is likely a hardware or OS problem.
make[1]: *** [.obj/release-shared/qapplication.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.5/work/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.3.5/src/gui'
make: *** [sub-gui-all-ordered] Error 2
 *
 * ERROR: x11-libs/qt-4.3.5 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 2472:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *       emake all || die
 *  The die message:
 *   (no error message)
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.5/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.5/temp/environment'.
 * This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
 *   /usr/portage/eclass/eutils.eclass
 *   /usr/portage/eclass/multilib.eclass
 *   /usr/portage/eclass/toolchain-funcs.eclass
 *   /usr/portage/eclass/portability.eclass
 *   /usr/portage/eclass/flag-o-matic.eclass
 *


I got a similar error with qt-4.3.3 as well. My system is AMD Athlon +3200 (32 bit). I am running Gnome 2.22.2 and Compiz-fusion 0.7.6 (from overlay). Compiler is gcc 4.1.2.

How can I solve this? Are there hidden dependencies here or a compiler fault? Is QT just plain broken?

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MalleRIM
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 563
Location: China

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
The bug is not reproducible, so it is likely a hardware or OS problem.

broken Hardware? try compiling some other apps, I'm sure it does not have anything to do with any QT/GTK conflict whatsoever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am able to emerge other applications.

Look at this from the log above:
Code:
kernel/qapplication.cpp: In static member function 'static void QApplicationPrivate::dispatchEnterLeave(QWidget*, QWidget*)':
kernel/qapplication.cpp:2272: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault


So no, I don't think there is a hardware issue. Could be an OS issue, which could be a dependency somewhere. I'll try again with QT-4.3.3, and see what it said there.

EDIT: emerged brasero with a new version of GTK, so nothing wrong there. I am running a "emerge -DNu world" and I guess a depclean and revdep-rebuild afterwards is in order. If QT doesn emerge after I presume a bugreport is in order (if its a similar compiler error)


Last edited by monsm on Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3224

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Segmentation faults when compiling mean 1 of two things... You have an error with your computer's memeory, or your toolchain is broken. I would recommend trying the QT emerge again. If it breaks int he same place then it's probably a software issue, if it completes or breaks in another place then it's likely hardware.

If it's hardware, you can test your systems memory using memtest86. Another thing that has helped me in the past is to clean the dust out of your computer and also reseat your memory.

If it's software I'd recommend recompiling your toolchain:
Code:
emerge linux-headers glibc binutils binutils-config gcc gcc-config  &&  emerge glibc binutils gcc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Mike, I added that EDIT in my previous post after you posted again.

The world update just crashed. This is part of the message:

Code:
ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid.
         include/linux/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.
         Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it.

2.
  ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid.
         include/linux/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.
         Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it.

6.
  ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid.
         include/linux/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.
         Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it.

25
  ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid.
         include/linux/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.
         Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it.


Actually the QT emerge failed on a kernel related file too: kernel/qapplication.cpp. I am running 2.6.24-gentoo-r8
I am thinking I should update my kernel first, then redo the woorld update and QT...

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3224

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably don't need to update your kernel... just rebuild it. In fact, you probably don't need to go as far as rebuilding it... just run the 'make oldconfig' and 'make prepare' it needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikegpitt wrote:
Segmentation faults when compiling mean 1 of two things... You have an error with your computer's memeory, or your toolchain is broken.

There is one more you should add to that list, doing a parallel distcc compilation of boost can cause a segmentation fault if one of the parts being compiled remotely doesn't come back when needed/expected. I don't remember which part, but in order to get boost to compile properly, I have to call it thusly:
Code:
MAKEOPTS=-j1 emerge -av boost
If I do otherwise, the compilation ends with a segfault.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally got it all sorted.

Turned out to be a bit silly. My link /usr/src/linux was pointing to the new 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 kernel, while the kernel I was actually using was 2.6.24-gentoo-r8. :oops:
A bit strange that the compiler showed it as segment fault though.

Anyway, also had to compile QT twice since I forgot to set the zlib usflag against it (needed by keepass).

The QT application looks fine, can't see what kind of inconsistencies between GTK and QT people react on. Keepass is quiet small though, so maybe it doesn't show up so much there. Anyway it works fine now.

Cheers,
Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Section_8
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

monsm wrote:

My link /usr/src/linux was pointing to the new 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 kernel, while the kernel I was actually using was 2.6.24-gentoo-r8. :oops:


Did you by any chance emerge gentoo-sources with the symlink use flag? I turned it off after getting bit like this once.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Section_8 wrote:
monsm wrote:

My link /usr/src/linux was pointing to the new 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 kernel, while the kernel I was actually using was 2.6.24-gentoo-r8. :oops:


Did you by any chance emerge gentoo-sources with the symlink use flag? I turned it off after getting bit like this once.


This is a very long time ago, but I think it was just a world update that installed a new kernel source. I think that also updated the symlink. I have since started to add a mask in package.mask to stop any later kernel sources from being installed. When I'm ready to upgrade the kernel I change it.

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum