Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Yet another fglrx black screen. Does anyone use fglrx?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rcxAsh
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:06 pm    Post subject: Yet another fglrx black screen. Does anyone use fglrx? Reply with quote

I've been trying to get the proprietary ATI drivers working, but have not been successful. I've never had them working before, so it's my first time trying. This is my first ATI card after a couple nVidia ones.

I'm not sure where to start. Looking around the internet, it seems that a lot of people have had this black screen problem (trying to start X with the fglrx driver selected results in a black screen and an unresponsive PC). In my case, everything appears to be locked up. Any ssh sessions die and I have to reboot the computer physically. I couldn't seem to find a solution for this (as it appears many have not either).

I've tried toggling the UseInternalAGPGART to no avail. The X output is shown below (as viewed from an ssh session - no log is ever written, as I don't think the system gets a chance to before everything freezes).

The log is incomplete, as the system freezes before any error message is thrown. So I'm a bit of a loss as to where to start looking. Any ideas are appreciated!

I'm running an AGP X800 on an AMD64 3200+, but with a 32-bit install... (I originally had a 64-bit install, but I thought that it was the reason for my fglrx headaches. But apparently, it's the same in the 32-bit install...)

Code:

X Window System Version 1.3.0
Release Date: 19 April 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 1.3
Build Operating System: UNKNOWN
Current Operating System: Linux cha 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 #2 SMP Fri Aug 8 09:34:04 EDT 2008 i686
Build Date: 08 August 2008