View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Abraxas
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:22 pm    Post subject: Mozilla Tracemonkey Benchmarks Reply with quote

I've been testing the latest Webit-GTK for a few months now and have been very impressed with the Squirrelfish javascript engine's performance. If you haven't heard yet Mozilla has their own javascript performance enhancing engine in the works called Tracemonkey. I was interested in the claims made by Mozilla that Tracemonkey's perfromance leap frogged Squirrelfish so I made an ebuild to grab the latest xulrunner and put it to the test using Sunspider's benchmark program. Check out the results. Maybe someone else can do more Sunspider Benchmarks to confrim or deny my results.
uaeb
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be mistaken, but do you not need to compile firefox / xulrunner with PGO ( http://developer.mozilla.org/en/Building_with_Profile-Guided_Optimization ) in order to reap the benefits of javascript speedups in Firefox ? Does your ebuild incorperate this somehow and if so, would you be so kind as to share ? :)
ensignyu
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the JIT may not have x86-64 bit support enabled yet. I get the same results on x86-64 with and without the JIT option.
Abraxas
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ensignyu wrote:
I think the JIT may not have x86-64 bit support enabled yet. I get the same results on x86-64 with and without the JIT option.

I hope that is the case because my results don't match up at all with what I've found elsewhere on the net.
Abraxas
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

uaeb wrote: