Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
RT2860 and wpa_supplicant problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
naviathan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 2:24 pm    Post subject: RT2860 and wpa_supplicant problem Reply with quote

I have an ASUS EEE 901 with the Ralink 2860 wireless card. The driver I'm using was built using the source code from Ralink's website with all the WPA options selected in the config.mk as per the walk throughs I've been able to find on this card. The module works when connecting to an unencrypted network using dhcpcd, but doesn't work when using wpa_supplicant to connect to a WPA-PSK encrypted network. Here's the output I'm getting:
Code:

>wpa_supplicant -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -Dwext -ira0 -d

Initializing interface 'ra0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ap_scan=2
Priority group 0
   id=0 ssid='GD'
Initializing interface (2) 'ra0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Could not configure driver to use managed mode
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=14 enc_capa=0xf
  capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:15:af:cb:04:2f
wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Added interface ra0
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11043 ([UP][RUNNING][LOWER_UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ra0' added
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'ra0' added
State: DISCONNECTED -> SCANNING
Trying to associate with SSID 'GD'
Cancelling scan request
WPA: clearing own WPA/RSN IE
Automatic auth_alg selection: 0x1
WPA: No WPA/RSN IE available from association info
WPA: Set cipher suites based on configuration
WPA: Selected cipher suites: group 30 pairwise 24 key_mgmt 3 proto 2
WPA: clearing AP WPA IE
WPA: clearing AP RSN IE
WPA: using GTK CCMP
WPA: using PTK CCMP
WPA: using KEY_MGMT 802.1X
WPA: Set own WPA IE default - hexdump(len=22): 30 14 01 00 00 0f ac 04 01 00 00 0f ac 04 01 00 00 0f ac 01 00 00
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
State: SCANNING -> ASSOCIATING
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
WEXT: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
wpa_driver_wext_associate
Setting authentication timeout: 60 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: External notification - portControl=Auto
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
RTM_NEWLINK: operstate=0 ifi_flags=0x11003 ([UP][LOWER_UP])
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=10



Once wpa_supplicant is started I attempt to do a "dhcpcd ra0" but it times out without finding a host. Anyone have any ideas? Suggestions?
_________________
I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, can you post this :

Code:

# cat /etc/conf.d/net
# cat /etc/wpa/wpa_supplicant.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naviathan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/conf.d/net doesn't contain much because I'm not loading anything on boot except lo. I'm planning to use NetworkManager so I won't need to bother with loading anything on startup.
Code:

dns_domain_lo="SubNet"


Code:

ap_scan=2
network{
             ssid="GD"
             scan_ssid=1
             proto=RSN
#           key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
#           pairwise=CCMP TKIP
#           group=TKIP
             psk="I'm Not Telling"
}


The # lines are just from some testing I've been doing. The network is WPA2, hence the proto=RSN. With the proto line in there if I remove the # from the key_mgmt line it goes into a weird loop and won't associate. With the # in it associates, but I don't get anything else. In all scenarios I get no leases from my work router.
_________________
I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naviathan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured out what the problem was. There's a config file in the driver source that has setting you must change for whether you are using NetworkManager or not. To get it working until I brought NetworkManager up I had to change one of the settings and recompile the driver. Once NetworkManager was up I had to recompile again with that setting changed back before knetworkmanager would acknowledge the wireless card. What a pain.
_________________
I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What config file ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naviathan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's under the source root as ./os/linux/config.mk
There's several options in there to go through.
_________________
I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum