Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't get networking going
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SweepingOar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 263
Location: LA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:37 am    Post subject: Can't get networking going Reply with quote

Trying to install from the 2008.0 minimal install cd onto an intel DG43NB motherboard. Dmesg shows e1000e loading on boot
Code:
Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver - version 7.3.20-k2-NAPI
Copyright (c) 1999-2006 Intel Corporation

and later:
Code:
e1000e: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver -0.2.0
e1000e: (c) 1999-2007 Intel Corporation


and I've tried
Code:
modprobe e1000e

to no avail. Keep getting:
Code:
eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found


lspci gives:
Code:
ethernet: Intel 82567V-2


There are also a couple of bios bug messages in dmesg and this:
Code:
sysfs: duplicate filename 'pata_platform' can not be created
WARNIN: at fs/sysfs/dir.c: 424 sysfs_add_one()
Pid: 1918, comm: insmod Not tainted 2.6.24-gentoo-r7 #1

Call Trace:
 [<fffffff... etc
.
.
.
kobject_add failed for pata_platform with -EEXIST, don't try to register things with the same name in the same directory.
Pid: 1918, comm: insmod Not tainted 2.6.24-gentoo-r7 #1

Call Trace:
...


I've looked at several other threads with similar problems, but none of those solutions helped. The only thing I get from from ifconfig -a is lo.
_________________
-SweepingOar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elgato319
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is

Code:

ifconfig eth0 up


working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SweepingOar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 263
Location: LA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope:
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
eth0: unknown interface: No such device

Also, ifconfig -a just shows lo and that's it. No eth* devices show up at all.
_________________
-SweepingOar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marekd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just searched through some info, cause tommorow I'm trying to get gentoo with similar ethernet card working.
You probably need kernel 2.6.26 to have your NIC working.
What I will try to do is to install gentoo from CD, just like you, but before that, download latest stable kernel, which is actually 2.6.26.5 and burn in on CD. Than copy, unpack and compile on my preinstalled gentoo. Do you think it may work ?
BTW. You might have seen, or might not. DO NOT USE .27 kernels and e1000e modules.


Last edited by marekd on Fri Oct 03, 2008 5:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SweepingOar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 263
Location: LA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see why it doesn't work for me or why it wouldn't for you. This is the kernel I'm using:

2.6.24-gentoo-r8 amd64
_________________
-SweepingOar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marekd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

because you probably need 2.6.26 not 2.6.24 (if I am wrong, please correct me)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you create a link from net.lo to net.eth0 thusly:
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth0
Did you properly set up the kernel driver? Do you see eth0 mentioned at any time during the boot process?

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SweepingOar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 263
Location: LA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't see that in the handbook and I don't recall ever needing to do that before. I put a PCI nic in and set it up as eth1 and that worked. Maybe at some point I'll get back to messing with the onboard nic.
_________________
-SweepingOar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marekd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SweepingOar wrote:
I didn't see that in the handbook and I don't recall ever needing to do that before. I put a PCI nic in and set it up as eth1 and that worked. Maybe at some point I'll get back to messing with the onboard nic.


you are lucky to be able to do that. once again - you probably need 2.6.26 kernel to use e1000e module with success.
Try reading this https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-705796-highlight-e1000e.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is in file /etc/conf.f/net ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SweepingOar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 263
Location: LA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using the minimal install 2008.0 cd at the time. Right now, I've got config and routes set up for eth1.
_________________
-SweepingOar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can either change /etc/conf.d/net to setup eth0 (see handbook)

or change the symlink /etc/init.d/net.eth1 -> net.lo
and add net.eth1 to default runlevel.

It's probably easier just to do it the normal way that the handbook describes. And use lsmod to see if your driver is loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum