View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
SweepingOar Apprentice
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 Posts: 263 Location: LA
|
Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:04 am Post subject: New hardware, can I save previous system? |
|
|
My power supply failed last night and appears to have also killed the cpu and/or mb. It was an Intel DG965RY and I replaced it with an Intel DG43NB and an E7200 processor. The system ran off two drives configured as a Raid 1 on the old system. The problem is that the system won't finish booting with the new hardware. It gets to this point:
Code: | md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: Scanned 0 and added 0 devices.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.
Root-NFS: No NFS server available, giving up.
VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy.
VFS: Insert root floppy and press ENTER |
Maybe the IDE chipset is different on this mb and I need to recompile the kernel. The trouble is that I need to boot the system and even with the 2008.0 install cd, I'm having trouble doing that. Networking won't come up and when I tried to mount one of the drives I got an error saying that it can't read the file system. Anyone have any experience doing this or any suggestions other than just reinstalling and going to the backups? Thanks. _________________ -SweepingOar |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gentoo-dev Apprentice
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 172
|
Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
1. You don't need networking
2. Boot of any LiveCD, reassemble your raided disks and mount the md devices
3. chroot
4. compile new kernel with the right sata drivers
5. install kernel, make sure you copy it to the right dir/partition
6. reboot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fangorn Veteran
Joined: 31 Jul 2004 Posts: 1886
|
Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First: Don't Panic!
Maybe youre filesystem is not clean.
As said before, use any livecd (I prefer grml for it's RAID detection capabilities), boot up the sucka and check the filesystem. As it is RAID1 you can do that either with the md device or with the actual partitions. But if you repair one partition only you have to mark the other partition dirty and rebuild before restarting to use the RAID1. _________________ Video Encoding scripts collection | Project page |
|
Back to top |
|
|
SweepingOar Apprentice
Joined: 31 Dec 2003 Posts: 263 Location: LA
|
Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks. Ok, so I used:
Code: |
modprobe raid1
mdadm --assemble /dev/md1 /dev/hda1 /dev/hdb1
mdadm --assemble /dev/md2 /dev/hda2 /dev/hdb2
mdadm --assemble /dev/md3 /dev/hda3 /dev/hdb3 |
Then turned swap on, mounted the devices and chrooted.
Now I'm configuring the kernel (2.6.24-gentoo-r8 amd64) and I've already got CONFIG_ATA_PIIX enabled. The trouble is that in the description for that option it says "enables support for ICH5/6/7/8 Serial ATA..." but the motherboard has the controller 82801JI (ICH10). So either the ide/sata driver isn't the problem or maybe I need a newer kernel.
...anyway, I fiddled with the kernel options and turned off some of the non-intel sata options and I was able to boot. Still didn't have networking, but at least the filesystems mounted. I guess I'll just install a pci nic. Is there a chkdisk command I can use to make sure the file system is ok? Thanks.
...also, one other weird thing. When I logout it takes about a minute for the login prompt to re-appear. Also if I hit enter at the login prompt (i.e. I don't enter a valid user name), it takes about a minute before the prompt comes back. Any idea what could be causing this? _________________ -SweepingOar |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jcat Veteran
Joined: 26 May 2006 Posts: 1337
|
Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you have an on board NIC, I doubt there's any need to purchase a PCI one just to get the network going!
Post on the Networking forum and we'll help you out
BTW
You may eventually find you want to re-compile your whole system to take advantage of newer CFLAGS etc. But get your system running normally first
Cheers,
jcat |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|