View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
stardotstar l33t
Joined: 10 Feb 2006 Posts: 887 Location: 2074/SYD/NSW/AU
|
Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:22 am Post subject: simple bridge takes 4 attempts to establish dhcp |
|
|
Hi all,
strange one - I have configured a bridge br0 for linking my sun virtual box (vbox1) with eth0 and followed the basic configuration steps to achieve a working result;
but only after I restart the bridge several times before it gets a dhcp address. like so:
Code: | geko stardotstar # /etc/init.d/net.br0 restart
* Starting br0
* Destroying bridge br0 ... [ ok ]
* Creating bridge br0 ... [ ok ]
* Adding ports to br0
* vbox0 ... [ ok ]
* eth0 ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up br0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
br0: dhcpcd 4.0.2 starting
br0: broadcasting for a lease
br0: offered 192.168.100.142 from 192.168.100.1
br0: checking 192.168.100.142 is available on attached networks
br0: received SIGTERM, stopping [ !! ]
geko stardotstar # /etc/init.d/net.br0 restart
* Starting br0
* Creating bridge br0 ... [ ok ]
* Adding ports to br0
* vbox0 ... [ ok ]
* eth0 ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up br0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
br0: dhcpcd 4.0.2 starting
br0: broadcasting for a lease
br0: offered 192.168.100.142 from 192.168.100.1
br0: checking 192.168.100.142 is available on attached networks
br0: received SIGTERM, stopping [ !! ]
geko stardotstar # /etc/init.d/net.br0 restart
* Starting br0
* Creating bridge br0 ... [ ok ]
* Adding ports to br0
* vbox0 ... [ ok ]
* eth0 ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up br0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
br0: dhcpcd 4.0.2 starting
br0: broadcasting for a lease
br0: offered 192.168.100.142 from 192.168.100.1
br0: checking 192.168.100.142 is available on attached networks
br0: received SIGTERM, stopping [ !! ]
geko stardotstar # /etc/init.d/net.br0 restart
* Starting br0
* Creating bridge br0 ... [ ok ]
* Adding ports to br0
* vbox0 ... [ ok ]
* eth0 ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up br0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
br0: dhcpcd 4.0.2 starting
br0: broadcasting for a lease
br0: offered 192.168.100.142 from 192.168.100.1
br0: checking 192.168.100.142 is available on attached networks
br0: received SIGTERM, stopping [ !! ]
geko stardotstar # /etc/init.d/net.br0 restart
* Starting br0
* Creating bridge br0 ... [ ok ]
* Adding ports to br0
* vbox0 ... [ ok ]
* eth0 ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up br0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
br0: dhcpcd 4.0.2 starting
br0: broadcasting for a lease
br0: offered 192.168.100.142 from 192.168.100.1
br0: checking 192.168.100.142 is available on attached networks
br0: received SIGTERM, stopping [ !! ]
geko stardotstar # /etc/init.d/net.br0 restart
* Starting br0
* Creating bridge br0 ... [ ok ]
* Adding ports to br0
* vbox0 ... [ ok ]
* eth0 ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up br0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ...
br0: dhcpcd 4.0.2 starting
br0: broadcasting for a lease
br0: offered 192.168.100.142 from 192.168.100.1
br0: checking 192.168.100.142 is available on attached networks
br0: acknowledged 192.168.100.142 from 192.168.100.1
br0: leased 192.168.100.142 for 86400 seconds [ ok ]
* br0 received address 192.168.100.142/24
geko stardotstar #
|
In the end the router it is leasing from is perfectly happy to serve up the 142 addy and work just fine in vbox as well as for eth0 on the gentoo host.
my bridge configuration is as follows:
Code: |
geko stardotstar # cat /etc/conf.d/net
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-dd -Dwext"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
#config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
#config_eth0=( "172.17.16.51 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
#routes_eth0=( "default via 172.17.16.254" )
###
# For every VM create an interface,
# set user to the one who going to use the
# interface.
tuntap_vbox0="tap"
tunctl_vbox0="-u stardotstar"
config_vbox0="null"
config_eth0="null"
# Add here all interfaces that you want to bridge
# eg eth0, but make sure to add config_eth0="null"
rc_need_br0="net.vbox0"
bridge_br0="vbox0 eth0"
# The following will be the host IP, it can be the default router
# for the VM in routing mode.
# You can use dhcp here if you like, it makes sense if you want
# to bridge your VM into the real network.
config_br0="dhcp"
#config_br0="192.168.151.1/24"
brctl_br0="setfd 0
sethello 0
stp off"
|
and my interfaces are present
Code: | geko stardotstar # ls -l /etc/init.d/net*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Sep 23 10:40 /etc/init.d/net.br0 -> net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 Sep 30 10:36 /etc/init.d/net.br1 -> /etc/init.d/net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Aug 26 20:59 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 30696 Aug 26 20:59 /etc/init.d/net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Sep 23 10:39 /etc/init.d/net.vbox0 -> net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 Sep 30 10:10 /etc/init.d/net.vbox1 -> /etc/init.d/net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 20 Aug 27 12:49 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> /etc/init.d/net.eth0
|
What's going on here guys??
TIA
Will _________________ ]8P |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
stardotstar l33t
Joined: 10 Feb 2006 Posts: 887 Location: 2074/SYD/NSW/AU
|
Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 10:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know - am I?
(thanks Uber!)
\\' _________________ ]8P |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
stardotstar l33t
Joined: 10 Feb 2006 Posts: 887 Location: 2074/SYD/NSW/AU
|
Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 11:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you; it would seem that this is indeed what I have struck...
I'll monitor the bug. Thanks UberLord for directing me.
\\' _________________ ]8P |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|