Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
1 NIC, 2 ISPs: is load balancing possible?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stolz
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 3028
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 4:03 pm    Post subject: 1 NIC, 2 ISPs: is load balancing possible? Reply with quote

Code:

      ISP 1                      ISP 2
      -----                      -----
        |                          |
        |                          |
     +--------+                +--------+
     |Router 1| 192.168.0.1    |Router 2| 192.168.0.2
     +---+----+                +--------+
         |                          |
         |        +------+          |
         |--------|switch|----------|
                  +------+
                      |
                      |
                      |
                     +--+
                     |PC| Only 1 NIC:eth0  192.168.0.3
                     +--+


I have a small network with few PCs, all of them with only 1 wired NIC. Also have contract with two Internet providers, one using Cable and the other using DSL. Both routers are standard home routers (not real computers) so its configuration is very limited.

All the PCs and both routers are confingured in network range 192.168.0.0/24. I can connect to Internet with both providers separately, either setting default gateway as 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.0.2.

Is it possible to to use both providers at the same time with this network layout, with some sort of traffic balancing between both of them?. If affirmative, what document do you recommend me to read?. If negative, are there other ways to take advantage of both providers although the traffic is not balanced?

I've read some docs and seems it would be possible to accomplish something very similar but I would need a Linux computer with 2 NICs acting as router but I wonder if it can be done with standard home routers.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54793
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stolz,

It might work with logical networking too.

Change the IP address of router 2 to a different subnet, say 192.168.2.1
Assign your PC with the single NIC, two IP addresses, one in each subnet,
Code:
eth0:0 192.168.0.3
eth0:1 192.168.2.3

so it can talk to both routers.
Does iproute2 see eth0:0 and eth0:1 as separate interfaces ?
Some trial and error is called for here.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum