Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15, 16  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

randomlychosen wrote:
I have many years of Linux experience and I haven't come here to ask questions or introduce myself because it would only be detrimental to this technical discussion
very, very self-confident.
randomlychosen wrote:
I wanted to share my thoughts with you, hoping that someone could dispel my doubts.
people who just want to share there their thoughts do not question the efforts of a community they are not a matured part of.
randomlychosen wrote:
I see no point of comparing GCC 4.4.0 with older .0 releases since newer subreleases in absolutely most cases only resolve bugs and introduce fixes.
those resolved bugs and introduced fixed cause performance improvements in many cases.
randomlychosen wrote:
Here comes the first whopping evidence:

Qt 4.5.2 /lib directory (without *.debug files) occupies
Code:
GCC 4.2.4: 43,649,379 bytes in 107 files
GCC 4.4.0: 46,544,895 bytes in 107 files

As you can see there's a 6.6% difference with absolutely identical compilation flags (-march=pentium2 -O2 -pipe -ftree-vectorize).
okay, the code is larger, what about speed?
and, nobody said that 4.4.0 is the best thing since sliced bread. it's the latest release and should therefor be brought to the distribution.
randomlychosen
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex.blackbit wrote:
it's the latest release and should therefor be brought to the distribution.

"Should"? Who has decided so? Are you a deity? ;)