Bootup "disk error 10"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zizak
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 12:42 am    Post subject: Bootup "disk error 10" Reply with quote

I've been using Debian Etch for about 2 months, and I wanted to see what else there was in terms of Linux distributions. Gentoo attracted me (I like fast penguins I guess?) , so I wanted to try it.

Got the CD, MD5sum checked out, but when I get to the initial boot prompt for the live CD, and type 'gentoo' it gives me this error:

isolinux: Disk error 10, AX=4280 Boot failed, press a key to retry...

I tried several settings in the boot options, to no avail.

A google search gave me a slight hint that it could be because I have an AMD64 processor. But they didn't expand on it, so I have no idea.

I also thought about the minimal install disk but....the handbook looks EXTREMELY daunting. I know my way around the command line, but I still consider myself a Linux noob (plus, I was brought up on Windows and graphical installers, so it's my preference) .

Unless of course theres a way to get it installed on the minimal disk without needing to do it manually.
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably your CD is faulty. Were any errors reported when you burned the CD?

Suggest download the minimal amd64 iso. If you are on Etch type cdrecord dev=/dev/hdc <downloaded iso file> (replace /dev/hdc with your CD-RW drive's device path).

Follow the Handbook step-by-step. It's not hard to do if you do it by the book. 8)
Zizak
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want the compatibility of the 32-bit version. 64-bit doesn't have all the software it could (unless gentoo is different? ) .
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate