View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
DaggyStyle Watchman
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 5941
|
Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 7:24 pm Post subject: software to monitor ports activity |
|
|
I've got a little problem, when my firewall is up I can't connect to samba, when it is down, samba is working, I want to findout which port is the problematic one, I've tried with tcpdump but I get alot of information, I need another program to cross reference the results, can you guys recommend me for logging which ports are been used or asked to be used _________________ Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
meal n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2006 Posts: 65 Location: Silesia / Poland
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DaggyStyle Watchman
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 5941
|
Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
meal wrote: | Have you allowed traffic on this port?
135 137 138 139 and 445 |
yes, here are my rules for these ports:
Code: |
/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -p tcp -m state --state NEW --dport 135 -d $host -j ACCEPT
/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -p udp -m state --state NEW --dport 137:139 -d $host -j ACCEPT
/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -p tcp -m state --state NEW --dport 137:139 -d $host -j ACCEPT
/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -p tcp -m state --state NEW --dport 426 -d $host -j ACCEPT
/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -i eth0 -p tcp -m state --state NEW --dport 445 -d $host -j ACCEPT
|
$hosts is a bunch of region addresses that I can be, I thought in switching them to 127.0.0.1 but I'm not sure if it will work _________________ Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
meal n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2006 Posts: 65 Location: Silesia / Poland
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DaggyStyle Watchman
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 5941
|
Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
meal wrote: | IIRC the "-d" argument must be a ip adresses class like 192.168.0.0/24 or specific address. |
it does, still, can you recommend a program?
OT: replacing 127.0.0.1 with all the address regions will work? _________________ Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
meal n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2006 Posts: 65 Location: Silesia / Poland
|
Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
127.0.0.1 wont allow you to connect from local network, cause it will open ports only on lo interface
You can use nmap from other computer and scan your machine [; _________________ http://www.mkozak.pl
http://blog.mkozak.pl |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|