View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
elninio
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:07 pm    Post subject: lenovo w500 laptop and gentoo Reply with quote

Whenever I try to install gentoo (latest version) from liveCD it fails to load X telling me that either the screen is not found or that there are no drivers for it. So far the only distro that I have tried that has worked with my hardware ( intel mobile 4 series and ati mobility fireGLv5700) is ubuntu (from liveCD). My biggest issue has been getting the wuxga resolution. I did a linuxfromscratch install that could support my hardware (sorta) , but it didnt allow me to get wuxga, only wxga.

How do I get gentoo with wuxga on a w500 (intel mobile 4 series integrated graphics only - i've disabled the ATI graphics in the bios)? Is it possible?
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The liveCD packages are not really that new. A lot of people have problems with a too old kernel on it and such.

I'm pretty sure you can get you desired resolution (since Ubuntu can). Just do a normal install (that is with the handbook and not the installer) but use system rescue cd instead of the minimal. It's gentoo based (so you won't have any problems installing from it), always has a recent kernel and has both 32 and 64 bit on one disc (type rescue64 for 64 in the boot prompt).
elninio
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

where can i find the rescue CD?
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.google.com/search?client=opera&rls=pl&q=system+rescue+cd&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8