View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
brent_weaver Guru
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 510 Location: Burlington, VT
|
Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:55 pm Post subject: Console fonts and bootup logo |
|
|
What do I need to do to get my kernel to put up the little Linux logo on the console as well as have a better fint at a console level? I enabled it in the kernel. I have a NVIDIA GForce2 card and 2.6.23 kernel.
Thanks! _________________ Brent Weaver |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aronparsons Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Oct 2004 Posts: 117 Location: Virginia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 4:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You need to append a "vga=" line to your kernel in GRUB. Try "vga=791" for a 1024x768 framebuffer or a "vga=0x31A" for a 1280x1024 framebuffer. The whole list of valid values can be found with your kernel documentation. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And to have the little Linux Logo, you need to install Gensplash.
but, if you refer for the penguin, this option is in the boot logo feature inside the kernel, and each penguin represent the number of CORE or CPU that your computer has. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ZeuZ_NG Guru
Joined: 10 Sep 2008 Posts: 453 Location: Near /dev/urandom | /dev/null
|
Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
d2_racing wrote: | And to have the little Linux Logo, you need to install Gensplash.
but, if you refer for the penguin, this option is in the boot logo feature inside the kernel, and each penguin represent the number of CORE or CPU that your computer has. |
Sorry for bumping, but I also have it built in the kernel, though I don't know with what to trigger the little Tux logo ontop of the screen that is related to the cores...
Is it something in the boot loader? _________________ | Intel Core i7 920. | Intel DX58SO Extreme. |
| 8gb DDR3 1666mHz | 1TB 7200 RPM WD HDD.|
Unix´s guru view of sex:
unzip ; strip ; touch ; grep ; finger ; \
mount ; fsck ; more ; yes ; umount ; sleep. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gef Apprentice
Joined: 17 May 2008 Posts: 180 Location: France
|
Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You want
Code: |
───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────── Bootup logo ───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ CONFIG_LOGO: │
│ │
│ Enable and select frame buffer bootup logos. │
│ │
│ Symbol: LOGO [=y] │
│ Prompt: Bootup logo │
│ Defined at drivers/video/logo/Kconfig:5 │
│ Depends on: HAS_IOMEM && (FB || SGI_NEWPORT_CONSOLE) │
│ Location: │
│ -> Device Drivers │
│ -> Graphics support
|
and
Code: |
Symbol: LOGO_LINUX_CLUT224 [=y] │
│ Prompt: Standard 224-color Linux logo │
│ Defined at drivers/video/logo/Kconfig:26 │
│ Depends on: HAS_IOMEM && (FB || SGI_NEWPORT_CONSOLE) && LOGO │
│ Location: │
│ -> Device Drivers │
│ -> Graphics support │
│ -> Bootup logo (LOGO [=y]) |
_________________ Laptop : Gentoo ~amd64
(remote) Server : Gentoo amd64 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dmpogo Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3468 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
aronparsons wrote: | You need to append a "vga=" line to your kernel in GRUB. Try "vga=791" for a 1024x768 framebuffer or a "vga=0x31A" for a 1280x1024 framebuffer. The whole list of valid values can be found with your kernel documentation. |
Actually, if you have widescreen, the card may support non-standard all vesa frame buffer modes. For example on my thinkpad
0x360,0x361,0x362 are 760x480,
0x363,0x364,0x365 are 960x600,
0x366,0x367,0x368 are 1280x800 and
0x369, 0x36a, and 0x36b are 1440x900 modes
"hwinfo --vbe" from hwinfo package will detect available framebuffer modes |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|