Get me started...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jmaloy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 2:22 am    Post subject: Get me started... Reply with quote

I have MDK9.1 on my laptop. I have a stage 2 tar ball in /home/jmaloy Where do I move it to and how? Go I need to make a dir and if I do How? Then tell me where I need to start on the Instructions. Im a noob and this will be my first "from scratch"or "almost scratch" install. After I install how do I get rid of Mandrake? Not that I dont like Mandrake, I just just dont need 2 Linux OSs on here.
green sun
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 2:32 am    Post subject: Re: Get me started... Reply with quote

jmaloy wrote:
I have MDK9.1 on my laptop. I have a stage 2 tar ball in /home/jmaloy Where do I move it to and how? Go I need to make a dir and if I do How? Then tell me where I need to start on the Instructions. Im a noob and this will be my first "from scratch"or "almost scratch" install. After I install how do I get rid of Mandrake? Not that I dont like Mandrake, I just just dont need 2 Linux OSs on here.

You really should start by reading the install docs closely:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-install.xml

You need to make a CD from one of the iso images & begin "from the beginning" as they say..

Do you want to keep MDK on the laptop? Have you tried installing & had problems?

Make sure you read the docs linked to above closely, hopefully once or twice before trying out an install...
jmaloy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Cd-rom dont work.
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2003 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote