Gentoo Handbook - Which Version?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lilflip37
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:30 am    Post subject: Gentoo Handbook - Which Version? Reply with quote

Hello everybody

First off, I would just like to mention that I am brand new to all versions of Linux, and have decided to choose Gentoo as my next platform.

I understand that in order to start, you recommend I read the handbook.

So my question is actually very stupid, but its a question nevertheless.
lol -_-

So anyways, I was wondering what version of the handbook would fit my system.

I am running an AMD sempron processor.... Dont really think the rest of my system information is all that important, but I can provide more if needed.

Thank you for your time
-Joseph
isilia
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, x86 will work in either case. If your processor is 64 bit you can use amd64 as well.

I would suggest starting with some other distribution though.
NathanZachary

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, and welcome to the Gentoo community! I would suggest reading the x86 handbook, as that is the one that you will use for your installation. I would like to offer a differing opinion than isilia about distributions. I started with Gentoo as my first version of Linux. Then I played around with some others, and ultimately I came back to Gentoo. I recommend starting with Gentoo because it will allow you to learn the inner-workings of a Linux system. The learning curve can be quite daunting at first, but if you need help, please just feel free to post some more questions here on the forum. :)
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lilflip37,

Welcome to Gentoo.