Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ethernet Net half working/There-up-but no network [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Volvogga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:05 am    Post subject: Ethernet Net half working/There-up-but no network [Solved] Reply with quote

After a rather large update I did yesterday, eth0 (my ethernet network) is now only half working. It worked fine before this. It starts at boot, falls back to my static IP (per my settings), sets the correct DNS, but then fails in (I think) setting the gateway, broadcast, and netmask. I didn't change any of the config files that I can think of when I did the configuration updates following the emerge. I did upgrade to the new kernel, but that doesn't seem to be the problem either, as I ran the old one again to see and it still didn't work.

The other things I have found is that eth0 appears no where in the output of the 'route' command. If I enable the radio, my wireless card (eth1) works just fine. Bringing the device down through /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart or ifconfig down/ifconfig up has no effect. Resolv.conf has the correct DNS information and options in it. My eth0 options in /etc/conf.d/net are as follows:
Code:
plug_timeout="10"
dhcpcd_eth0="-L"
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="release nodns nontp nonis"
fallback_eth0=( "192.0.0.9" )
fallback_route_eth0="default via 192.0.0.1"
ifplugd_eth0="--delay-down=5"

(I have an odd network address scheme, I know...)

Like I said, it does drop back to 192.0.0.9 like I ask it, however this is the result of an ifconfig eth0:
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:12:4d:d8:d9:b6
          inet addr:192.0.0.9  Bcast:0.0.0.0  Mask:255.255.255.255
          inet6 addr: fe80::212:3fff:fed8:d6b8/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:79 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:11377 (11.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:18


If I ping google, I get a dns resolution it seems (it does come up and say the ip address of the google server), and then I get:
Code:
PING www.l.google.com (74.125.95.104) from 192.0.0.9 eth0: 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.0.0.9 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable


Lastly, I tried downgrading dhcpcd from 4.0.7 to 4.0.6, and it had no effect.

I know the NIC is ok as I booted into windows and had no trouble. Something got screwy but I can not figure out for the life of me what it is. If anyone has any ideas or more configuration files to check somewhere, I would appreciate the help greatly. Any more information needed I'll be happy to provide.

Thanks for reading and for the help in advance.
_________________
Vol~


Last edited by Volvogga on Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you should probably start by getting your /etc/conf.d/net file formatted correctely. I know you might argue it worked ok before the update, but maybe the syntax is more strict now.

According to the docs, it should be more like:

Code:
plug_timeout=( "10" )
dhcpcd_eth0= ( "-L" )
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0=( "release nodns nontp nonis" )
fallback_eth0=( "192.0.0.9" )
fallback_route_eth0=( "default via 192.0.0.1" )
ifplugd_eth0=( "--delay-down=5" )


It may be worth testing without ifplugd as well. Please post back your results, we'll see if we can get to the bottom of it :)


Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc1918 wrote:

3. Private Address Space


The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) has reserved the
following three blocks of the IP address space for private internets:

10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (10/8 prefix)
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (172.16/12 prefix)
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix)



192.0.0.* isn't a valid ip to build a private network on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Volvogga
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I am aware of that, and one of these days I'll get around to fixing my addresses. As soon as I remember how to edit the address of one odd network device (don't ask).

Thank you JCat, you have led me to the correct answer. I fixed the syntax (thanks for that tip... I've seen it both ways, so it's nice to know what official is), that didn't work. I disabled ifplugd as much as possible... but couldn't quite get it fully disabled on eth0. In looking to see if there was some info on ifplugd in /etc/conf.d/net.example, I ran across this...

# We provide two interface handlers presently: ifconfig and iproute2.
# You need one of these to do any kind of network configuration.
# For ifconfig support, emerge sys-apps/net-tools
# For iproute2 support, emerge sys-apps/iproute2

# If you don't specify an interface then we prefer iproute2 if it's installed
# To prefer ifconfig over iproute2
# modules=( "ifconfig" )

... guess what I installed a few days ago when I was trying to play with QoS?

So adding modules_eth0=( "ifconfig" ) to /etc/conf.d/net fixed the problem.

*sigh* It's always the little things.

Thanks for the help, I appreciate it.
_________________
Vol~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcat
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 1337

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hehe, it's the little things that are harder to spot! :)



Cheers,
jcat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum