Complete Newbie
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pseudonym_anon
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:22 am    Post subject: Complete Newbie Reply with quote

I am interested in using Linux, a couple of my friends have said to me that Gentoo is very much diving in at the deep-end, and that the learning curve would be huge, but the documentation should help me through, and if I manage it, all my understanding would be strong. Has anyone got any thoughts or advice.

The PC I am willing to "play with" for this little experiment is currently a P3 Win98 with 18gb hard drive.
elgato319
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have never used linux before i would not start with gentoo.
Sure you will learn alot about linux, but it can be very frustrating if things don't work out like planned. You might loose your intrest in linux.

My Advice:

Try something easy at first. Ubuntu is very easy to install and has a good documentation.
Try to use it for a week or two. Learn (and see) how the filesystem works. What is X? What is a Windowsmanager? How do i use a terminal? etc..

After that i would try another flavour of linux. the choice is yours.

If you still feel the urge to know what is going on inside on all of this. grab gentoo and try to install it. you will notice that it differs from other (standard) distributions. the documentation for gentoo is quite good, with it i'm sure you can install it on your first try.

Linux/Unix requires you to have some basic knowlege on how a computer works. often users have more problem on how to partition their harddrive than using the command to do so. :)
pseudonym_anon
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote